Supreme Court of the United States Washington, A. C. 20543

OFFICE OF PUBLIC INFORMATION

Chronology of the Investiture Ceremony for Ketanji Brown Jackson September 30, 2022

Associate Justice Ketanji Brown Jackson will be escorted by the Clerk of the Court, Scott Harris, to the well of the Courtroom, where she will sit in the same chair used by Chief Justice John Marshall during the early 19th century. The chair has been used for the investiture of every member of the Court since Lewis F. Powell, Jr., took his Judicial Oath in 1972.

Gail Curley, the Court's Marshal, will rap the gavel and introduce the Chief Justice and Associate Justices with the Court's traditional "cry." The Members of the Court will take their places on the Bench.

Attorney General Merrick B. Garland, Deputy Attorney General Lisa O. Monaco, Solicitor General Elizabeth B. Prelogar, and Principal Deputy Solicitor General Brian H. Fletcher will be seated at counsel table in front of the Bench. The Attorney General will move to have Justice Jackson's Commission read by Clerk Harris. Marshal's Aide Supervisor Gabrielle Gregg will carry the Commission to the Clerk.

Deputy Clerk of the Court Laurie Wood will then escort Justice Jackson to the Bench and the Clerk of Court will escort Justice Jackson to the center of the Bench. At this point, the Justices will stand, but the audience will remain seated. Chief Justice John G. Roberts, Jr., will administer the Judicial Oath to Justice Jackson, with the Clerk standing between them holding a Bible. After the oath, Chief Deputy Marshal Paul Golden will escort Justice Jackson to her seat on the far right. Chief Justice Roberts and Justice Jackson will be seated and the special session will then adjourn.