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QUESTION PRESENTED

 Whether a state law or practice
which has the effect of fixing the price
of distilled spirits in all other states
violates the Commerce Clause and presents
an issue appropriate for the exercise of
this Court's original 3jurisdiction when
thirty-eight states have such statutes,

requlations or practices.
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SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1984
No . Original
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OF NORTH CAROLINA, STATE OF OHIO, STATE
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WEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS, STATE OF
MINNESOTA, STATE OF NEBRASKA, STATE OF
NEW JERSEY, STATE OF NEW MEXICO, STATE
OF NEW YORK, STATE OF OKLAHOMA, STATE OF
RHODE ISLAND, STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA,
AND STATE OF TENNESSEE,

Defendants

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE COMPLAINT

Pursuant to Rule 9 of the Rules

of this Court, the Commonwealth of



Pennsylvania, by 1its Attorney General,
asks leave of this Court to file its
Complaint égainst the defendant states
submitted herewith.

In support of this . Motion,
plaintiff respectfully states as follows:

1. National sales of distilled
spirits to wholesalers exceeded $14
billion in 1982. Pennsylvania, like six-
teen of the defendant states, acts as
the sole wholesaler within its borders,
and as such, purchased in excess of $292
million worth of distilled spirits in
fiscal year 1983-1984.

2. Commencing in 1938, a
nationwide system of uniform wholesale
purchase prices for distilled spirits
sold in interstate commerce was
established and ultimately adopted by
thirty-eight states, including the

Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.



3. Each defendant state adopted
this system, known as "price affirma-
tion", by statute, regulation or purchase
contract provision which requires, inter
alia, that suppliers of distilled spirits
agree for each product sold to:

(a) charge all of their
wholesale customers within the state a
price no higher than the 1lowest price
charged to any other wholesale purchaser
in the nation, regardless of size, loca-
tion, cost of doing business, or 1local
competitive factors anywhere in the
country; and

(b) publicly post their selling
prices, and in some cases their prospec-
tive selling prices, in order to facili-
tate policing of the various price affir-
mation statutes, regulations and prac-
tices.

4, The inevitable and demonstra-

ble effect of a state's affirmation
3



policy 1is to establish the minimum
prices at which a supplier may sell to
its wholesale cuétomers any where in the
country, regardless of the size of those
customers or local <competitive condi-
tions.

5. The inevitable and demonstra-
ble effect of all thirty-eight affirma-
tion policies 1is to set a single whole-
sale price in all thirty-eight states,
irrespective of normal market forces;
charging a customer more than the
affirmation price would violate that
customer's, home state's affirmation
policy. Charging that <customer less
than the affirmation price would violate
the affirmation policies of the other
thirty-seven states. The result is a
national inflexible and noncompetitive
pricing structure distorting the free
market in a significant industry, 1in

violation of the Commerce Clause of the



Constitution of the United States.

6. The Commonwealth of
Pennsylvania has suffered and will
continue to suffer damage due +to the
unavailability of a free market for
products that it purchases in vast
guantities. Moreover, the national
economy as a whole is injured by the
distortions caused by the protectionist

price affirmation laws and practices.



WHEREFORE, Plaintiff respect-
fully requests that this Court grant its

Motion for Leave to File Complaint.

Respectfully submitted,
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COMPLA INT

The Commonwealth of Pennsylvania,
by its Attorney General, institutes this
action seeking a declaratory judgment
and permanent injunctive relief, and
alleges upon information and belief as

follows:

PARTIES

1. Plaintiff, the Commonwealth of
Pennsylvania, 1is a sovereign state of
the United States of America and, in
that capacity, is the first purchaser of
all distilled spirits distributed for
consumption and use within its borders.

2. Defendants Alabama, Idaho,
Iowa, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi,
Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina,
OChio, Oregon, Utah, Vermont, Virginia,

Washington, West Virginia and Wyoming



("the Control State Defendants") are all
sovereign states of the United States of
America which, like Plaintiff Pennsylva-
nia, purchase all distilled spirits dis-
tributed fbr consumption and use within
their respective borders each of which
requires, under penalty of law, that
within their respective borders initial
sellers of distilled spirits maintain
for each product a price uniform through-
out the territories of all parties to
this action.

3. Defendants Arizona, California,
Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia,
Hawaii, Kansas, Louisiana, Maryland,
Massachusetts, Minnesota, Nebraska, New
Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Oklahoma,
Rhode Island, South Carolina and Tennes-
see ("the Affirmation Law Defendants")
are all sovereign states of the United
States of America, each of which

requires, under penalty of law, that



within their respective borders initial
sellers of distilled spirits maintain
for each product a price uniform through
the territories of all parties to this

action ("the affirmation price").

JURISDICTION

4. The original Jjurisdiction of
the Supreme Court is based upon Article
III, Section 2 of the Conétitution of
the United States and 28 U.S.cC.
§1251(a)(1), since this is a controversy
between two or more states.

5. Pennsylvania possesses no

plain, speedy or adequate remedy at law

and suffers -- and will continue to
suffer -- irreparable injury unless all
distilled spirit  price affirmation

statutes, regulations and préctices,
including Pennsylvania's affirmation

warranty, are permanently enjoined.
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Because of the interrelated nature of
the nationwide affirmation systen,
Pennsylvania cannot voluntarily abandon
its affirmation policy without subjecting
itself to significant economic harm, as
described more fully in paragraphs 13
and 14 .

6. Because of the interrelated
nature of the nationwide affirmation
system and ‘the 1limits of in personam
jurisdiction, there is no‘other forum in
which Pennsylvania can obtain a trial on
the merits of this entire action except

before this Honorable Court.

11



DISTILLED SPIRITS AFFIRMATION

7. Following passage of the
Twenty-first Amendmeht to the Constitu-
tion of the United States in 1933, Plain-
tiff and the Control State Defendants .
(collectively, the "Control States™")
sought to control the distribution of
alcoholic beverages within their bo;ders
by the authorization of state-run mono-

polies which  purchase, inter alia,

distilled spirits at wholesale from
distillers and other agents found within
that state's borders.

8. In 1938, representatives of
thirteen of the Control States partici-
pated in an industry meeting in Des
Moines, Iowa, to discuss common problems.
Pennsylvania did not participate in the
meeting.

9, Following the Des Moines Conven-
tion, all Control States adopted a then

existing Virginia Contract provision

12



which, as a condition of purchase,‘
required that all suppliers of distilled
spirits affirm that the price charged
the purchasing state would be the lowest
price at which that particular product
was sold in the United States ("the Des
Moines Warranty"). The Des Moines
Warranty typically provides that the
supplier--the first seller into a
Control State--guarantees that the

Basic Costs (Cost F.0.B. designated
shipping point) at which merchandise
is quoted. . . shall not exceed such
Basic Costs quoted by the vendor or
by an agent or subsidiary of the
vendor or by any other person. . . to
any purchaser, dealer, agent or agency
of any nature or kind whatsoever
anywhere in the United States of
America. The vendor further guaran-
tees that in the event the price
quoted covers delivery. . . such
delivery cost shall in no instance
exceed the actual delivery cost per
case to such warehouses. Should the
delivery price in any other State or
the District of Columbia include
freight absorption, then the vendor
guarantees that the same freight
absorption will be offered to the
[control statel. . . The vendor
further guarantees that if and when
special cash or commodity, allowances

13



postoffs, or discounts are offered to
purchasers in any other State or the
District of Columbia, the same
allowances, postoffs, discounts or
their equivalent shall also Dbe
offered the [control state].

Vendor agrees, upon discovery . . .
and notice to the vendor of any breach
of the pricing guaranties. . . to
reimburse the Board for the differen-
tial in price at which said merchan-
dise was sold. . . and the price at
which it was quoted or sold, whichever
was lower, to any purchaser, dealer,
agent or agency anywhere in the
United States of America.

10. Commencing in 1964 with Defendant
New York, states other than the Control
States required initial sellers of
distilled spirits to adhere to the
affirmation in connection with sales to
private wholesalers within their state
borders. The Affirmation Law Defendants
and their respective affirmation statutes
and regulations are as follows:

a. Arizona requires that a supplier
of distilled spirits selling to any
wholesaler in Arizona must file a

schedule, together with an "affirmation

14



duly verified by the supplier that the
bottle and case ©price of spiritous
liquor to wholesalers set forth in the
schedule is no higher than the 1lowest
price at which such item of liquor was
sold by the supplier or any related
person to any wholesaler anywhere in any
other state of the United States or in
the District of Columbia, or to any
state or state agency which owns and
operates retail liquor stores. . . ."
Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 4-253(A) (Supp.
1984).

b. California reguires that a
supplier may not ‘"sell any brand of
distilled spirits to any wholesaler. . .
in this state at a price higher than the
lowest price at which such brand of
distilled spirits is sold by such brand
owner or his agent to any wholesaler...
during any calendar month anywhere in

any other state or in the District of

15



Columbia or to any state, or state
agency, which owns or operates retail
distilled spirits stores. . . ." Cal. .
Ann. Bus. & Prof. Code § 4-23673 (West
Supp. 1984).

c. Connecticut requires that "every
[supplier] shall file with the department
of liquor control a written affirmation
under oath by the manufacturer or out-of-
state shipper of each brand of such
alcohol and spirits posted certifying
that at the time of posting the bottle,
can or case price or price per keg,
barrel or fractional unit thereof, to
the wholesaler permittees is no higher
than the lowest price at which each such
item of alcoholic liquor is or will be
sold . . . to any wholesaler in any
other state of the United States or in
the District of Columbia, or to any
state or agency of a state which owns

and operates retail 1liquor outlets.”

16



Conn. Gen. Stat. § 30-63b(a) (1985).

d. Delaware requires that a
supplier of distilled spirits "shall
file by January 15 of each year. . . a
verified affirmation that the bottle and
case price of all alcoholic liquors. . .
offer[ed] for sale to a Delaware importer
will be sold to that importer at a price
which is no higher than the lowest price
at which such items will be offered for
sale at the same at the time by such
manufacturer or distillery to any whole-
saler in any state or the District of
Columbia or to any state, or state
agency, which owns and/or operates retail
liquor stores."™ Del. Code Ann. tit. 4,
§ 508(a) (1974)

e. Florida requires that every six
months American suppliers shall submit a
"duly verified affirmation that the net

prices to be charged for such distilled

17



spirits, when computed on a single
F.0.B. point-of-origin basis, whether
sold by bottle or case, will be no
higher than the lowest net prices, when
computed as defined in this chapter, to
be charged to ahy distributor in any
other state or the District of Columbia
6r to any state or state agency which
owns and operates retail liquor outlets
during the same six-month period. Any
such primary American source of supply
« » . Mmay amend such affirmation by the
15th day of any month, such amended
affirmation to take effect on the first
day of the following month. . . ." Fla.
Stat. Ann. § 565.15(1) (West Supp. 1984).

f. Georgia requires, by regulation,
that "[elvery producer or manufacturer
of distilled spirits shall affirm that
the prices at which he sells to distribu-
tors 1is as low as the 1lowest price for

which each identical item is sold

18



anywhere in any state within the United
States. Georgie Department of Revenue,
Alcohol and Tobacco Tax Unit, Chapter
560-2-3-.47 (1982).

g. Hawaii requires that a supplier
file an “"affirmation, duly verified,
certifying that such supplier will not
sell or offer to sell any item of liquor
in any state or the District of Columbia
at a price lower than the price for Which
the same item is sold or offered for
sale by such supplier to a Hawaii
wholesaler. . ..[A supplier may file] a
revised schedule at any time to reflect
changed or modified prices, provided
that any price increase shall not be
effective wuntil thirty days from the
date of the filing." Hawaii Rev. Stat.
§§ 281-122, 281-123 (Supp. 1983).

h. Kansas requires that the price
charged to a Kansas wholesaler by a

supplier be filed with the state and

19



that the price "shall be as low as the
lowest price., . . for which the item
will be so0ld in any other state in the
continental United States by [ such
supplier]. . . ." Kan, Stat Ann. §
41-1112(a) (Supp. 1983).

i. Louisiana requires that "any
person or company who sells 1liquor to
any Louisiana liquor dealers shall give
the same discounts as are given by them
to any liquor dealers in any other state
so that Louisiana liquor dealers shall
pay the same price as dealers in all
other states.” La. Rev, Stat. Ann.
§26:370(B) (West 1975).

Je Maryland's legislature, in
1967, passed a statute which states that
*[tlhe Comptroller may require, by regu-
lation, that suppliers of wholesalers of
distilled spirits affirm that the net
price of each item offered for sale,

exclusive of routine transportation

20



costs, 1is no higher than the lowest
price at which such item is Dbeing
offered for sale elsewhere within the
United States, including the District of
Columbia." Md. Ann. Code Art. 2B, §
109(c-1) (1981).

k. Massachusetts requires the
filing of a schedule of minimum consumer
prices and on "affirmation duly verified
by the [supplier] that the bottle and
case price of alcoholic beverages . . .
set forth in such schedule is no higher
than the lowest price at which such item
of alcoholic beverage was sold . . .
anywhere in any other state of the
United States or in the District of
Columbia, or to any state (or state
agency). . . at any time during the
calendar month immediately preceding the
month in which the schedule is filed. .
. " Mass. Gen. Laws Ann. ch. 138, §§

25C(a), 25D(a-b) (West Supp. 1985).

21



1. Minnesota requires that "[nlo
licensed importer or manufacturer shall
offer or sell to any licensed wholesaler
any intoxicating liquor of a bottle or
case price which is higher than the
lowest price at which such item of
liquor 1is contemporaneously being sold
by such [supplier] anywhere in any other
state of the United sStates or in the
District of Columbia or to any state or
state agency which owns and operates
retail liquor stores . . . ."™ Minn.
Stat. § 340.114 (Subd. 3) (Supp 1984).

m. Nebraska's statute states that
no "licensed manufacturer or importer
shall sell or offer to sell to any
licensed Nebraska wholesaler, distribu-
tor, or Jjobber any item of alcoholic
liquor. . . at a price which is higher
than the lowest price at which such item
is currently being sold or offered for

sale to any wholesaler, distributot, of

22



jobber in any other state or the
District of Columbia or to any state
agency." The statute further requires
that each manufacturer or importer file
an affirmation with the Liquor Control
Commission not to violate the above
noted statute. Fur ther, a monthly
filing is requi;ed setting forth the
"current scheduled prices for each brand
and each size of alcoholic liquor, . . .
sold or offered for sale in Nebraska,
which prices, at the time of filing, are
not higher than the 1lowest price at
which the brand and size are offered for
sale to any wholesaler, distributor, or
jobber in any state or the District of
Columbia or to any state agency." A
revised schedule or a statement of no
revision is to be filed on the fifteenth
day. Any price increases are effective
forty~five days after the date of

filing. Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 53-170.02,
53-170-03 (1978),

23



n. New Jersey requires that
"[elvery [supplier] intending ¢to .sell
alcoholic beverages to wholesalers or
distributors within this State
shall . . . [plrior to any sale or
delivery of distilled spirit alcoholic
beverages, or annually by August 1 of
each year, file with the Division a
written statement under oath affirming
that its prices to New Jersey wholesalers
and distributors have not been and will
not be a price or discount higher than
the lowest price or 1lower than the
highest discount which has been or will
be offered to any wholesaler or distri-
butor or state agency (which operates
retail stores) in any other State of the
United States or in the District of
Columbia.”™ N.J. Admin. Code tit 13, §

2-24.5(a)(3)(1980).

23(A)



0. New Mexico's statute provides
"No brand of alcoholic beverages shall
be sold to or purchased by a wholesaler.
. . uUnless a price and discount schedule
is filed with the director and is then
in effect.™ Accompanying, as part of the
schedule must be "a verified affirmation
that the price to New Mexico wholesalers
is no greater than the lowest price at
which the item of alcoholic beverages 1is
sold by the brand owner or any related
person to any other wholesaler anywhere
in any other state of the United sStates
or in the District of Columbia, or to
any state or state agency which owns and
operates retail liquor stores."
Alcoholic beverages can only be sold at
the scheduled price and the schedule is
in effect on a monthly basis. N.M.
Stat. Aann. §§ 60-8A-12(A), 60-8A-15

(1981).
24



p. New York's affirmation statute
prohibits suppliers from selling
distilled spirits in the state, unless a
supplier files a schedule with the state
liquor authority of all items offered
for sale in the succeeding month.
Included, as part of the schedule, must
be "an affirmation duly verified by the
owner of such brand of liquor, or by the
wholesaler designated as agent for the
purpose of filing such schedule if the
owner of the brand of 1liquor 1is not
licensed by the» authority, that the
bottle and case prices of 1liquor to
wholesalers set forth in such schedule
is no higher than the lowest price at
which such item of liquor will be sold
by such brand owner or such wholesaler
designated as agent, or any related
person, to any wholesaler anywhere in
any other state of the United States or

in the District of Columbia, or to any

25



state (or state agency) which owns and
operates retail 1liquor stores. . .."
The New York statute requires that all
discounts offered by a supplier
nationally to be offered to New York
wholesalers. I+, however, limits the
amount of any discount offered to New
York wholesalers. N.Y. Alco. Bev. Cont.
Law § 101-b-3(d) (Consol. 1980).

q. Oklahoma requires that "[nlo
distiller shall sell alcoholic beverages
to a wholesaler 1licensed under the
Alcoholic Beverage Control Act at a rate
higher than the 1lowest rate at which
such distiller sells in any other state.”
Okla. Stat. Ann. tit. 37, § 536.1 (West
Supp. 1985).

r. Rhode Island's statutes states
"no holder of a certificate of compliance
foé distilled spirits. . . shall ship,
transport or deliver within this state,

or sell or offer for sale, to a

26



wholesaler any brand of distilled
spirits. . . at a bottle or case price
higher than the 1lowest price at which
such item is then being sold or offered
for sale or shipped, transported or
delivered by such holder of a certificate
of compliance to any wholeseller in any
~other staté of the United States or in
the District of Columbia or to any
state, including any agency or such
state, which owns and operates retail
liquor outlets." The statute requires a
written affirmation certifying compliance
with the above noted provision and
require the affirmation price to be the
lowest price offered anywhere 1in the
calendar month in which shipment is
made. The affirmation price may Dbe
changed, but must be filed 15 days prior
to the proposed effective date and
subsequently approved by the liquor

administration. R.I. Gen Laws § 3-6-14.1

27



(1976).

S. South Carolina requires each
registered producer of distilled spirits
who, at the time of registration with
the state, file with the Alcoholic
Beverage Control Commission an affirma-
tion of corporate policy with regard to
sales ‘of all Dbrands owned, controlled,
sold or offered for sale, franchise or
distributed by such a producer in the
state. "The affirmation shall certify
that the producer will not willfully
sell or offer for salé any alcocholic
liquors of a particular brand and proof
in any State in the United States at a
price lower than the price such liquors
are sold or offered for sale to licensed
South Carolina wholesalers."” Quantity
discounts are not considered violations
of the producers affirmation 1if such
discounts are offered to South Carolina

wholesalers in the same quantities.

28



Violations of these provisions can
result in the suspension or cancellation
of the producers ability to do business
in South Carolina. S.C. Code Ann.

§ 61-7-100 (Law Co-op. 1976).

t. Tennessee requires manufacturers
and distillers of distilled spirits,
before offering their products for sale
in Tennessee, to file "an affirmation of
corporate policy with regard to sales of
all  Dbrands owned, controlled, sold,
of fered for sale, franchised or
distributed by such manufacturer,
distiller, rectifier, factor, broker or
vintner 1in this state. . . . The
affirmation shall certify that the
manufacturer, distiller . . . shall not
willfully sell or offer for sale any
alcoholic spirituous beverages. . . of&a
particular brand, proof or size, in
Tennessee at a price higher than the

price such liquors are sold or offered

29



for sale to licensed wholesalers in any
other state in the United States.
Quantity discounts are not considered a
violation of the manufacturer's
affirmation if such discounts are
offered to Tennessee wholesalers for
purchases in the same quantities.”
Tenn. Code Ann. § 57-3-202(el-3) (1980).
11. Although the Affirmation Law
Defendants' statutes and regulations are
not in all respects identical, all
require suppliers to affirm to state
government that the price offered to
wholesalers in that State is the lowest
price at which the item is sold
nationally. This affirmation price must
take into account all discounts,
allowances, rebates and transportation
factors not related to actual cost.
Some statutes carry criminal penélties
in addition to «civil and economic

sanctions.

30



12. The combination of the Control
States' Des Moines Warranties and their
legislative mirror images in the
Affirmation Law States results in a
national liquor price affirmation system.

13. Throughout the thirty-eight
states which are party to this action,
.suppliers must charge a uniform price
for each of their brands. A lowering of
a price to a public or private
wholesaler in any state automatically
requires an identical lowering of priée
to all wholesalers in all thirty-eight
states. A raising of price to less than
all wholesalers nationwide is 1likewise
prohibited by the affirmation provisions
of every state where such a price
inc;ease is sought, and in the District
of Columbié, charging a wholesaler in
any of these uninvolved states a lower
price than that prevailing in the

thirty—-eight states would violate each

31



of the existing affirmation provisions.
14. In addition, De fendants
require that suppliers maintain the
national affirmation price for up to
forty-five days after publicly posting
their price. Coupled with the
affirmation policies described above,
these provisions further insure price

stability and rigidity.

VIOLATIONS OF THE COMMERCE CLAUSE

15. The national price affirmation
system prevents, as intended, the normal
operation of the free market and
replaces it with a system of state
regulation resulting in uniform prices
to all wholesalers in all thirty-eight
affirmation states.

16. Each Defendant's affirmation
policy, statute and/or regulation has
significant extraterritorial effect on

the price of distilled spirits in all

32



other states, by inter alia:

a. Making it  impossible for
interstate suppliers to adjust prices in
response to local competition and
competitive forces in other states
without making the same price
adjustments in each affirmation state.

b. Making it impossible for
interstate suppliers to differentiate
among customers based upon such actual
cost factors as volume purchases,
centralized marketing and delivery, and
payment terms without offering the best
of such terms to all customers in each
affirmation state, regardless of actual
cost factors.

c. Making it impossible for
interstate suppliers to expand their
market share in any state by using price
inducements without reducing its price
in all existing markets to the Ilower

price level in each affirmation state.
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d. Preventing large purchasers,
such as Pennsylvania, from negotiating a
free market price based on competitive
cost factors, payment terms and quantity
discounts.

17. Faced with the extraterritorial
impact of each such pricing decision,
interstate suppliers forego competition
in iocal markets, thereby restricting
the free flow of goods in interstate
commerce. |

18. By adopting an affirmation -
provision, a defendant state projects
his economic regulations directly into
other states by establishing the prices
paid by public and private wholesalers
in all other states.

19. In 1982 national sales of
distilled spirits to wholesalers and
control states exceeded 14 billion

dollars.
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20, The distilled spirit industry
is concentrated, with Joseph E. Seagram
& = Sons, Hublein, National and
Brown-Forman, the four largest
interstate suppliers, accounting for at
least 31 percent of all distilled spirit
sales in the United States. Nevertheless
many 16ca1 and regional suppliers exist
and compete with the 1large interstate
suppliers on the basis of price.

21. Plaintiff Pennsylvania, in
fiscal year 1983-1984, purchased
approximately $292 million worth of
distilled spirits, the vast majority of
it from suppliers 1located outside of
Pennsylvania.

22, Because of the artificial
restrictions placed on the distilled
spirit market by the national price
affirmation system, Pennsylvania and
other purchasers are deprived of the

benefits of free and open competition in
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the sale and ©purchase of distilled
spirits.

23. The affirmation statutes,
regulations and practices of the parties
to this action are violative of Article
I, Section 8, Clause 3 of the Constitu-
tion of the United States because the
effect of each such statute, regulation
and practice-- and all such statutes,
regulations and practices taken as a
whole--is to regulate 1liquor prices in
all other states.

24, This extraterritorial scope of
the challenged statutes, regqulations and
practices substantially burdens inter-
state commerce by requiring suppliers to
sell their products at a single national
price 1level for each distilled spirit
-product sold in interstate commerce,
regardless of local competitive factors,
and thereby seriously distort the

pricing, marketing and purchasing of the
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multibillion dollar distilled spirits
industry.

25. The Twenty-first Amendment to
the Constitution of the United States
does not permit the Defendants ~ to
regulate the prices of extraterritorial
interstate sales and purchases of
distilled spirits. .

WHEREFORE, the Plaintiff, Common-
wealth of Pennsylvania, respectfully
requests that this Honorable Court:

a. Assume Jjurisdiction of this
case; |

b. Declare all distilled spirit
statutes, regulations and practices
unconstitutional;

c. Enjoin the enforcement of all
distilled spirit price affirmation

statutes, regulations and practices; and
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d. Grant such further and other
relief as justice may require, together

with the costs of this action.

Respectfully submitted,

A

w” -
GARY DiVITO
Chief ‘Counsel, Pennsylvania

Liquor Control Board
Counsel of Record

LEROY S. ZIMMERMAN
Attorney General

ALLEN C. WARSHAW
Chief Deputy Attorney General
Chief, Litigation Section

ANDREW S. GORDON
Senior Deputy Attorney General

Office of Attorney General
15th Floor, Strawberry Square
Harrisburg, PA 17120

(717) 783-1471

Date: February 25, 1985
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BRIEF IN SUPPORT OF MOTION

FOR LEAVE TO FILE COMPLAINT

JURISDICTION

Plaintiff, the Commonwealth of
Pennsylvania, is a sovereign state of
the United States and a major purchaser
of distilled spirits. It brings this
action against thirty-seven other
sovereign staEes of the United States
whose statutes, regulations and practices
impose a national system of distilled
spirit price affirmation in violation of
Article I, Section 8, Clause 3 of the
Constitution of the United States seeking
to have those statutes declared unconsti-
tutional and to have their enforcement
enjoined. This is, therefore, an action
over which this Court has original and
exclusive jurisdiction under Article
III, Section 2 of the Constitution of
the United States and 28 U.S.C. §l1l251(a)

(Supp. 1983).

44



STATUTE AND CONSTITUTIONAL
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION

Article I, Section 8, Clause 3. Power of
Congress to regulate commerce.

To regulate Commerce with foreign
Nations, and among the several States,
and with the Indian Tribes.

Article 111, Section 2, Clause 1.
Subjects of jurisdiction.

The 3judicial Power shall extend
to all Cases, in Law and Equity, arising
under this Constitution, the Laws of the
United States, and Treaties made, or
which shall be made, under their Author-
ity;~--to all Cases affecting Ambassadors,
other public Ministers and Consuls;--to
all Cases of admiralty and maritime
Jurisdiction;--to controversies to which
the United States shall be a Party; to
Ccontroversies between two or more States;
--between a State and Citizens of another
State;--between citizens of different
States;—--between citizens of the same
State claiming Lands under Grants of
different States, and between a State,
or the Citizens thereof, and foreign
States, Citizens or Subjects.

AMENDMENT XXI.-REPEAL OF
PROHIBITION AMENDMENT

Section 1. The eighteenth article of

amendment to the Constitution of the
United States is hereby repealed.
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Section 2. The transportation or
importation into any State, Territory,
or possession of the United States for
delivery or use therein of intoxicating
liquors, in violation of the laws
thereof, is hereby prohibited. . .

FEDERAL STATUTES

28 U.S.C. §1251. Original jurisdiction.

(a) The Supreme Court shall have
original and exclusive Jjurisdiction ' of
all controversies between two or more
States.

STATE STATUTES

Given the. voluminous nature of
the twenty state statutory schemes
involved herein, the relevant portions
of those statutes (and their accompanying
regulations) are set forth in the
Appendix of this Brief.
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HISTORY OF PRICE AFFIRMATION

In 1933, by virtue of the passage
of the Twenty-first Amendment to the
United States Constitution which repealed
Prohibition, the states ‘were granted
broad requlatory power over the transpor-
tation, possession, delivery and use of
alcoholic beveragesvwithin their borders,
Seventeen states opted to control the
distribution of 1liquor by operating
wholesale 1liquor monopolies. Many of
those states (including Pennsylvania)
also have state-run retail liquor
monopolies. These states are known as
the "Control States.” The remaining
states, and the District of Columbia,
chose to regulate distribution of liquor
by 1licensing and regulating private
wholesalers and retailers.

In 1938, representatives of
thirteen of the seventeen Control States

met in Des Moines, Iowa to discuss common

47



business problems. Liquor industry
members also attended the meeting. At
the time 6f that meeting, Virginia and
some other attendees already had a
provision in their standard liquor
purchase contracts that required
suppliers to affirm that the prices
charged to the state were the lowest
prices at which the suppliers sold their
products anywhere in the United States.
The use of similar contract provisions
by all control States was openly
discussed. Within several years, all
Control States, including Pennsylvania
(which was not a participant at the
meeting), adopted affirmation provisions
in their liquor purchase <contracts.
This type of provision is known in the
liquor industry as the "Des Moines
Warranty."

In 1964, the second phase in the

development of the national price affir-
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mation system began. In that year, New
York--a non-control state with private
wholesale and retail distributors--
passed a 1liquor affirmation statute
which required all suppliers to affirm
to the state that the prices charged to
wholesalers within the state were no
greater than the 1lowest price charged
nati&nally for any particular item in
the preceding month.l The act required

that sellers post these prices and
maintain them for thirty days. Violators
of the act are subject to criminal and
civil sanctions. New York is a non-con-

trol-state ~-- a state with private
wholesale and retail distributors. It
was the first such state to enact an

affirmation statute. Chapter 531, 1964

lChapter 531, 1964 Session Laws of
New York. In 1977, New York amended its
price affirmation law. The current
statute (25a-26a), is significantly
broader in scope than its predecessor.
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Session Laws of New York.
In the wake of this Court's

decision, 1in Joséph E. Seagram & Sons,

Inc, v. Hostetter, 384 U.S. 35 (1966),

not to invalidate the New York statute
prior to its becoming operative,
additional non-control states soon
passed their own affirmation laws.
Presently, twenty-one non-control states
("the Affirmation Law States") have such
laws or regulations. Although not in
all detail identical, all affirmation
laws require distilled spirit suppliers--
on their first sale into a state--to
charge to that state's private whole-
salers a price no greater than the
current lowest price offered anywhere in
the United sStates for any particular

item.
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EFFECTS OF PRICE AFFIRMATION

Each state's price affirmation
requirement has the effect of converting
the wholesale price in that state into
the minimum wholesale price in all
states. Since thirty-eight states have
virtually identical requirements, this
minimum wholesale price becomes the
actual wholesale price through these
thirty-eight states.

A price increase to a wholesaler
in Kansas, for example, must be accompa-
nied by an identical increase to all
other public and private wholesalers in

these thirty-eight states pursuant to

Kansas law. See, Kan. Stat. Ann. §
41-1101(a) (Supp. 1983). A price

decrease to a wholesale; in Kansas must
be accompanied by an identicalﬁ decrease
to all other public and private
wholesalers in these thirty-eight states
pursuant to the laws of the other

thirty-seven states.
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Additionally, many affirmation
laws require that price changes remain
in effect for specific lengths of time,
Minnesota, for example, requires that
all price changes must be £filed by the
first day of the month, become effective
on the first day of the following month,
and remain in effect for that entire
month. Thus, a supplier's Minnesota
price posted on January 1 becomes the
selling price in all thirty-eight states
for the month of February. See, Minn.
Stat. § 340.114 (Subd. 3) (Supp. 1984).

Suppliers and purchasers of
distilled spirits are therefore
confronted with an interrelated system
of state protectionist regulations, each
of which <creates a single national

affirmation price.
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SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The scope and intent of these
laws are undeniably extraterritorial in
nature. States may claim that the
purposes of these 1laws are to secure '
lower prices for the public or private
wholesalers within their respective
borders; however, these affirmation
statutes, regulations and practices
instead target the prices suppliers
charge (and purchasers, such as
Pennsylvania, pay) in other states and
seek to protect their 1local wholesalers
by regulating the prices to be charged
throughout the nation.

Most revealing is the fact that
affirmation laws apply only to interstate
suppliers. A distiller who only sells
his product in Rhode Island, for example,
is not obliged to charge the affirmation
price to its FRhode Island wholesale

customers, while a competitor who also
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sells in neighboring Connecticut and
Massachusetts must bring its prices in
those states into 1line with the Rhode
Island price. See, R.I. Gen. Laws §
3-6-14.1 (1976).

"Even the Twenty-first Amendment
does not authorize this direct regulation
of the extraterritorial sale and purchase
of distilled spirits. It is, therefore,
illegal regulation of interstate

commerce, barred by the Commerce Clause.

54



ARGUMENT

I. THE COMPLAINT PRESENTS SUBSTANTIAL
FEDERAL QUESTIONS CONCERNING THE
CONSTITUTIONALITY OF STATE POLICIES
WHICH CONTROL THE PRICES PENNSYLVANIA
MUST PAY FOR LIQUOR.

This case involves a dispute
between sovereign states. This Court
may, therefore, exercise original juris-
diction over the complaint in this case
pursuant to Article III, Section 2 of
the United sStates Constitution and 28
U.8.C. §1251(a)(1).

The exercise of this jurisdic-

tion is discretionary and is only invoked

in T"appropriate <cases." Maryland v.

Louisiana, 451 U.s. 725, 739 (1981);

Illinois v. City of Milwaukee, 406 U.S.

91, 93 (1972). However, this is such a

case.

In this regard, this Court has

held that:
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[Wihat is ‘'appropriate' involves not
only 'the seriousness and dignity of
the claim' but also 'the availability
of other forum  where there is
jurisdiction over the named parties,
where the issues may be litigated’,
and where appropriate relief may be
had.

Maryland v. Louisiana, 451 U.S., at 739~

740. This case presents a substantial
controversy between Pennsylvania and the
defendant states, 1involving important
and serious federal questions concerning
the interplay between the Commerce Clause
and the Twenty-first Amendment of the
United States Constitution. Moreover,
there exists no other forum in which
Pennsylvania can obtain a trial on the
merits concerning the 1legality of the
entire nationwide price affirmation
system.

Pennsylvania, 1in its sovereigﬁ
capacity, operates’ a liquor monopoly

which purchases all distilled spirits
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sold in the commonwealth. 2 The

Defendant States, by individual and

collective operation of distilled
spirits price affirmation statutes,
regulations and policies, have createa a
national price affirmation system. This
system requires interstate suppliers of
distilled spirits to fix a uniform
wholesale price for all products sold
within the borders of the thirty-eight
states party to this action. This
affirmation price additionally becomes a

wholesale price floor within all other

2paffirmation  statutes, regulations
and contract provisions effect all seg-
ments of the liquor industry, including
distilled spirits, and to a lesser
extent, wine and beer. For purposes of
this litigation, Pennsylvania  will
restrict its Complaint to the distilled
spirits industry, in which it is a major
purchaser. Since the constitutional
objections to all affirmation statutes
are the same, it 1is Pennsylvania's
belief that this Court's disposition of
this Complaint will be dispositive of
the - legality of all affirmation
practices in the liquor industry.
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states and territories. This system
unlawfully restricts and interferes with
the operation of the‘free market system
in the 14 billion dollar distilled
spirits industry in violation of the .
Commerce Clause,

Pennsylvania is harmed by
defendants' actions by being deprived of
the normal advantages which large volume
purchasers enjoy in an unfettered market
and is further harmed by the restriction
placed by affirmation inter-brand
competition in markets within its
borders. Moreover, under Pennsylvania
law, and consistent with the Twenty-
first Amendment, Pennsylvania acts in
its sovereign capacity when it controls
the purchase of liquor within its borders
as the sole purchaser and distributor.

Biello v. Pennsylvania Liquor Control

Board, 301 A.2d 849, 852, 454 Pa. 179,
185 (1973).
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This Complaint, therefore,
presents an appropriate and proper con-
troversy for the exercise of this Court's
original jurisdiction: Pennsylvania has
suffered a wrong in its sovereign
capacity through the actions of other
states and the federal question involved
is of a serious and substantial nature.

Moreover, oﬁly this Court,
through a special master, can adjudicate
the facts and determine the ultimate
merits of Pennsylvania's claim. As will
be shown herein, aside from the indivi-

- dual impact of each of the Defendant
States' affirmation provisions, all
affirmation provisions combine to create
the national price affirmation system,
Because of that interrelatedness, a deci-
sion invalidating any single provision
will have no impact on the operation of

the entire system. Thus, resorting

59



to the several Federal District Courts
in the Defendant States for relief will
not provide Pennsylvania with a timely
or adequate remedy.

In addition, "minimum contacts"
with the forum Jjurisdiction are required
for the exercise of personal jurisdic-
tion. It is, therefore, extremely
doubtful that any one district court
would have jurisdiction over all

Defendant States.3 See World-wide

31t may be argued that the U.S.
District Court of the District of
Columbia, because of the necessary
contacts all states have with the
federal government, would have in
personan Jjurisdiction over all parties.
However, that court would be lacking
proper venue, A civil action wherein
jurisdiction 1is not founded solely on
diversity of citizenship may be brought
only in the judicial district where all
defendants reside, or in which the claim
arose, except as otherwise provided by
law. 28 U.S.C.A. §1391(b). Since no
parties resided in the District of
Columbia, nor did the claim arise there,
that court could not serve as an
alternate forum to adjudicate the merits
of Pennsylvania's claim.
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Volkswagen Corporation, et al, v. Wood-

son, 444 U.S. 286 (1980); International

Shoe Company v. Washington, 326 U.S. 310

(1945).

The filing of thirty-seven
separate actions in the federal courts
of all defendant states does not
provide Pennsylvania with .an adequate
alternative forum. ‘Such an approach
would constitute an enormous waste of
judicial resources and create a
significant risk of inconsistent
adjudications. Thus, no single forum,
other than this Court, has the power and
jurisdiction to resolve this matter
effectively.

Pennsylvania's Complaint presents
serious and substantial federal issues
and 1is in complete accord with the

purposes and reach of the original
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jurisdiction of this Court.4 The

Court should, therefore, grant 1leave to

file this Complaint,

41n 1972, this Court denied, without
opinion, a motion for 1leave to file a
complaint against twenty-six states who,
at that time, had affirmation statutes,
regulations or policies, Pennsylvania
v. New York, 407 U.S. 206 reh den., 409
U.S. 897 (1972). That complaint sought
to challenge only discreet portions of
the national price affirmation system.
Since then, this Court has refined the
state of the 1law with respect to the
interplay between the Twenty-first
Amendment and the Commerce Clause. See
Bacchus Imports, Ltd. v. Dias, No. 82-
1565 (June 29, 1984), California Retail
Liquor Dealers Ass'n v. Midcal Aluminum,
Inc., 445 U.S. 97 (1980). Affirmation
has spread to other states and there has
now been ample time to develop economic
evidence on the effects of affirmation
on the free market system in a 14 billion
dollar a year industry. Pennsylvania
believes that the time is now ripe for
this Court to address the important con-
stitutional questions inherent in the
national price affirmation system and
thereby avoid piece-meal--and potentially
conflicting-- adjudications of this
national question. See United States
Brewers Association, Inc. v. Healy, 692
F.2d4 275 (24 Cir. 1982), aff'd, No. 82-
1493 (October 17, 1983). See also Joseph
E. Seagram & Sons, Inc. v, Gazzara, 83
Civ., 6825 (LBS) (S.D. N.Y. October 13,
1983).
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II. THE PRICE AFFIRMATION SYSTEM
BURDENS INTERSTATE COMMERCE
It is well-settled doctrine
under the Commerce Clause that where a
state regulation effects a direct
control on the out-of-state pricing of
any commodity it "is a prohibited regqula-
tion and invalid, regardless of the
purpose for which it was enacted.”

Shafer v. Farmers Grain Company, 268

U.S. 189, 199 (1925); Edgar vVv. MITE

Corp., 457 U.S. 624, 641-643 (1982);

Public Utilities Commission v. Attleboro

Steam & Electric Co., 273 U.S. 83 (1927);

Lemke v. Farmers Grain Co., 258 U.S. 50

(1922).

Accordingly, in Edgar v. MITE

Corp., supra, this Court held that,

despite a lack of discriminatory purpose,
the Illinois takeover statute was
facially invalid because it sought to

control the conduct of nationwide tender
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offers., The Court reasoned that:

[T]he Commerce Clause. . .permits
only incidential regulation of
interstate commerce by the States;
direct regulation is prohibited.

457 U.S., at 640 (emphasis supplied).

Similarly, in Lemke v, Farmers Grain

Co., supra, the Court invalidated a

state statute which permitted state
officials to set resale profit margins
on all grain bought at North Dakota
grain elevators. Despite the fact that
there was no showing that the préscribed
margins discriminated against out-of-
state purchases, the Court held that:

The principles recognized in decisions
of this Court which permit the State
to make local 1laws under its police
power in the interest of the welfare
of its people, which are valid
although affecting interstate
commerce. . . halve]l no application
where the State passes beyond the
exercise of its legitimate authority
and undertakes to regulate interstate
commerce by imposing burdens upon it.

258 U.S., at 58-59 (emphasis supplied).

In Baldwin v. G.A.F. Seelig, Inc., 294
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U.S. 511 (1935), the Court invalidated a
New York "equal price"™ statute similar to
the affirmation provisions at issue here.
The New York statute in Baldwin required
distributors selling milk in New York to
warrant that, if they purchased milk from
producers outside New York, they would
pay a price no lower than the price
charged by New York producers for similar
milk. 294 U.s., at 520. Although the
Court did find that New York's statute
was prbtectionist in purpose, the
statute was struck down as a direct
restraint on interstate commerce. 294
U.s., at 521-522, 525-526, 528, The
foundation for the decision in Baldwin
rings particularly true here:

New York has no power to project its

legislation into Vermont by regulating

the price to be paid in that state for

milk acquired there.

294 U.s., at 521.
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For similar reasons, a state may not
regulate liquor pricing beyond its

borders. See, e.qd., Hostetter V.

Idlewild Bon Voyage Liquor Corp., 377

U.S. 324 (1964); United States Brewers

Association, Inc. v. Healy, No. 82-1493

(October 17, 1983) sum aff'd, 692 F.24

275 (2nd Cir. 1982); United States v,

State Tax Commission, 412 U.S. 363

(1973).
'The Court's decision in Joseph

E. Seagram & Sons, Inc. V. Hostetter,

384 U.S. 35 (1966) does not compel a
different result. In that case, the
Court held that an early and much less
burdensome type of affirmation statute
than those at issue here5 would not be

invalidated prior to its effective date

5See pages 69-72, infra.
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in the absence of compelling evidence
that it would place an undue burden on
interstate commerce. In that case,
Seagram unsuccessfully challenged
Section 9 of New York's original price
affirmation law, Chapter 531, 1964
Session Laws of New York (superceded),
which required that "the bottle and case.
price of 1liquor [sold to any New York
wholesaler be]., . . no higher than the
lowest price anywhere in the United
States during the preceding month."
Seagram, 384 U.S., at 40-41. (emphasis
supplied). The Court explicitly
declined to reach the central issue
presented by this case, stating that
[W]le need not now decide whether
the mode of 1liquor regulation
chosen by a state in such circum-
stances could ever constitute so
grave an interference with a
company's operations elsewhere
as to make the regulation

invalid under the commerce
clause.
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384 U.S., at 42-43, The Court closed
its opinion by again observing that
fallthough it is possible that
specific future applications of
Chapter 531 may -engender concrete
problems of constitutional dimensions,
it will be time enough to consider
any such problems when they arise.
384 U.s., at 52.6
This case squarely presents the
Court with those "concrete problems of
constitutional dimensions." In the
eighteen years since the Seagram
decision, nineteen non-control states
have joined New York in requiring that

no sale be made to any wholesaler in any

other state at a price lower than that

6Additionally, the Court 1in Seagram
appears to have adhered to the view,
since rejected by Bacchus Imports, Ltd.
v. Diaz, No. 82-1565 (June 29, 1984),
and Capital Cities Cable, Inc. v. Crisp,
No. 82-1795 (June 18, 1984), that the
states have an almost limitless right to
control all aspects of 1liquor sales
within their borders, regardless of the
state's purpose or the impact on
interstate commerce. Seagram, 384 U.S.,
at 42 and 47.
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charged to wholesalers in the exacting
state. The current 1laws in California,
Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Kansas,
Louisiana, Maryland, Tennessee and South
Carolina require that the wholesale
price in each state be no higher than

the lowest contemporaneous price anywhere

else in the United States. Thus, unlike
the situation presented in .Seagram,
interstate sales to wholesalers in each
of these states must conform to the
prices charged simultaneously to all
wholesalers in all Defendant States.
These statutes and regulations are
designed to have the same effect as the
Des Moines Warranties utilized by the
Control States. The Court in Seagram
may have recognized the added burden on
interstate commerce inherent in a state
requirement that sellers base their
actual selling price to Pennsylvania on

the price that suppliers will contempor-
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aneously charge in some other state when
it suggested that the Des Moines
Warranties:

may be more  onerous than that
required for the affirmation under
§9, since the [Des Moines] Warranties
generally cover prices in other
states at the very time of sale to
the [Control Statel. . .

384 U.Ss., at 45, See Baldwin v. G.A.F.

Seelig Inc., 294 U.s. 511 (1935).

More pernicious still are
requirements imposed by Florida, Hawaii,
Minnesota, Nebraska, New Mexico, New
York and Rhode 1Island which directly
"tell a [supplier] that for any given
month when it sells [distilled spirits]
;o a wholesaler [in any other state], it
may not do so at a price lower than it
has previously announced it will charge
to . . . wholesalers" in these "prospec-

tive® affirmation states., "United States

Brewers Association, Inc. v. Healy, 692

F.2d 275, 282 (24 Cir. 1982), aff'd, No.
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82-1493 (October 17, 1983),. As the
Second Circuit noted in Healy, "reliance
on [Seagram] as sanctioning [prospective]
affirmation provisions, is misplaced.”
692 F.2d at 282.

As an example of this direct
regulation, New York's current affirma-
tion 1law requires a distilled spirit.
supplier to post monthly schedules with
the State Liquor Authority stating the
per bottle and per case price (including
all discounts) for each item offered for
sale to New York wholesalers as a condi-
tion of doing business in the state.7
The posted price must remain in effect
for the month covered by the schedule.

This schedule must be accompanied by an

affirmation that the quoted price is the

TThat statute has been superceded
by a less burdensome, but no less consti-
tutionally infirm, "current" price affir-
mation statute .
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lowest price offered for the item any-
where in the United States for the month
following the effective date of the
posted schedule. Violation of this re-
guirement can give rise to criminal and
civil sanctions. N.Y, Alco. Bev, Cont.
Law § 101-b-3 (Consol. 1942, as amended,
1964). Thus, on its face, the New York
statute directly and prospectively
controls the minimum wholesale price a
seller, doing business in New York, may
offer in any other state.

In United States Brewers Associa-

tion, Inc. v. Healy, supra, this Court

summarily affirmed a ruling of the Second
Circuit, which struck down a similar
Connecticut beer affirmation statute.
That statute required all beer suppliers
to post the wholesale price at which it
could sell its product in bordering
states. Postings remained in effect on

a monthly basis and were accompanied by
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an affirmation that the price posted was
the lowest price offered in any bordering
state during the month following the
effective date of the posting. The court
of appeals found that Connecticut's
statute prospectively controlled the
minimum price that could be charged to
non-Connecticut suppliers in a
non-Connecticut transaction. Finding
the statute invalid, that court noted:
Nothing in the Twenty-first Amendment
permits Connecticut to set the minimum
price for the sale of beer in any
other state, and well-established
Commerce Clause principles prohibit
the state from controlling the prices
set for sales occurring wholly
outside its territory.
Healy, 692 F.2d at 282.

Where the effect of a state law
is to regulate conduct occurring wholly
outside the state the burden on commerce
is impermissible. "Thus, it has been

held repeatedly that where the practical

effect of a state regqulation is to
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control <conduct in other states, the
regulation violates the Commerce Clause."
Healy 692 F.2d at 279, citing New York,

Lake Erie and Western Railroad v,

Pennsylvania, 153 U.S. 628, 646 (1894);

Shafer v. Farmers Grain Co., 268 U.S.

189, 199 (1925); Baldwin v. G.A.F.

Seelig, Inc., 294 U.S. 511, 524 (1935);

Southern Pacific Co. wv. Arizona, 325

U.S. 761, 775 (1945); Edgar v. MITE

Corp., 457 U.S. 624, 642 (1982).

On a practical basis, the
affirmation ~system--regardless of the
form of any specific state's regulation--
requires sellers to offer their products
to all wholesalers at the same price in
all thirty-eight states. In setting a
sales price for its product to Pennsyl-
vania, any interstate -supplier must
price that product with the certain
knowledge that it has no choice but to

offer the same price in each Defendant
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State. Thus, each Defendant State's
affirmation policy requires that an
interstate supplier consider market
conditions existing in all Defendant
States as a factor in setting its
Pennsylvania price. This process 1is
repeated continuously for each state
until the supplier arrives at a price
that it feels it can 1live with. The
price then offered to wholesalers
including Pennsylvania, on a nationall
basis, bears no diréct relationship ¢to
the price which any given wholesaler,
such as Pennsylvania, would otherwise
pay.

After the original New York
affirmation statute became effective,
the minimum price on major interstate

brands of distilled spirits rose to the
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New York level.8 Affirmation is a
system which in operation merely insures
that all wholesale customers receive a
uniform price, not a competitive price.
When each Defendant State individually
controls the 1lowest price which a
supplier may charge Pennsylvania, by
tying that price to the price offered by
the supplier to 1its smallest private
wholesaler customer in any of these
thirty-eight states, irrespective of

actual cost factors, the concept of a

8This marketplace experience is
consistent with the concerns expressed
by the plaintiff in Seagram. The Court
declined to invalidate New York's
statute on that basis, since it was, at
that time, a matter of "conjecture."
The Court noted that it "is by no means
clear, for instance, that §9 must
inevitably produce higher ©prices in
other States, as claimed by appellants,
rather than the lower prices sought for
New York." Seagram, supra, 384 U.S., at
43. Pennsylvania is prepared to present
detailed economic evidence of the effect
affirmation has had on price levels
should the Court grant Pennsylvania's
motion for leave to file the complaint.
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single national market place, unimpeded
by insular state regulation, is defeated.
Thus, the cumulative effect of all
affirmation policies 1is to unlawfully
burden interstate commerce because of
the eXtraterritorial impact on supplier
pricing decisions in' transactions
occurring wholly beyond individual state
borders. This direct extraterritorial
regulation of commerce is barred by the

Commerce Clause.

IIT. THE TWENTY-FIRST AMENDMENT DOES
NOT AUTHORIZE STATES TO REGULATE
THE PRICES OF DISTILLED SPIRITS
SOLD OUTSIDE OF THEIR BOARDERS.

It is against the background of
the operation of the national price
affirmation system that we must analyze
the impact, if any, of the Twenty-first
Amendment.,

When the Eighteenth Amendment

was repealed in 1933 by the Twenty-first
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Amendment, each state was granted broad
regulatory power over the delivery into
and subsequent use within its borders of
alcoholic beverages. Article 2 of the
Twenty-first Amendment states:
The transportation or importation
into any State, Territory or posses-
sion of the United States for delivery
or use therein of intoxicating liquor,
in violation of the laws thereof, is
hereby prohibited. ‘
That regulatory power includes the
authority to completely forbid the

importation of 1liquor into a state if

the state so desires. United States'of

America v. Frankford Distillers, 324

U.S. 293 (1945); State Board v. Young's

Market Co., 299 U.S. 59 (1936). A state

is totally unconfined by traditional
commerce clause limitations when it
restricts the importation of intoxicants

destined for use, distribution or
consumption solely within its borders.

See California Retail Liquor Dealers
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Ass'n. v, Midcal Aluminum, Inc., 445

U.S. 97 (1980).

However, while the Twenty-first
Amendment permits the states to regulate
and restrict the importation sale, and
use of alcoholic beverages within their
borders to a greater extent than they may
regulate other commodities 1in inte;state
commerce, the Amendment has never been
construed to supersede other provisions
of the Constitution. This Court specifi-
cally has rejected the contention that
Article 2 of the Twenty-first Amendment
freed the states from all constitutional
restrictions upon the exercise of the

police power. Young's Market Co., 299

U.S., at 64. Despite the existence of
the Twenty-first Amendment, states cannot
tax imported liquor in violation of the

Export-Import Clause, Department of

Revenue v, James B. Beam Distilling Co.,

377 U.S. 341 (1964); insulate the liquor
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industry from the Fourteenth Amendment
requirement of equal protection, Craig
v. Boren, 429 U.s. 190, 204-209 (1976);

or of due process, Wisconsin V.

Constantineau, 400 U.S. 433 (1971); or

permit violation of the Establishment
Clause of the Pirst Amendment, Larkin v,

Grendel's Den, Inc., 459 U.S. 116 (1982).

Furthermore, this Court has long
recognized the supremacy of the Commerce
Clause despite the existence of the
special power given to the states under
the Twenty-first Amendment.

In Hostetter v, Idlewild Bon

voyage Liquor corp., 377 U.s. 324

(1964), the Court sustained the enjoining
of New York's attempt to prevent Idlewild
from engaging in the sale of 1liquor
destined exclusively for export from‘New
York. The Court emphasized that the
focus and operational sphere of state

power under the Twenty-first Amendment
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powers was limited to intrastate

commerce, In rejecting the argument
that the Twenty-first Amendment obviated
the operation of the Commerce Clause,
the Court stated:

To draw a conclusion. . . that the
Twenty-first Amendment has somehow
operated to ‘'repeal' the Commerce
Clause wherever regulation of
intoxicating liquors is concerned
would, however, be an absurd over-
simplification. If the Commerce
Clause had been pro tanto 'repealed,'
then Congress would be 1left with no
regulatory power over interstate or
foreign commerce in intoxicating
liquor. Such a conclusion would be
patently bizarre and is demonstrably
incorrect.

377 v©U.s., at 331-332, The Court ruled
that an examination of any conflict
between the Commerce Clause and state
regulation under the Twenty-first Amend-
ment required a balancing of the federal
and state interests involved. The Court
noted:

Both the Twenty-first Amendment and

the Commerce Clause are parts of the
same Constitution, Like other
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provisions of the Constitution, each
must be considered in the 1light of
the other, and in the context of the
issues and interests at stake in any
concrete case.
377 U.S., at 331-332.
More recently, seeking to
develop standards for assessing specific

state regulations, the Court noted in

California Retail Liquor Dealers Assn.

v. Midecal Aluminum, Inc., 445 U.S. 97,

(1980), that there was no bright 1line
between federal and state power over
liquor:

The Twenty-first Amendment grants the
States virtually complete control over
whether to permit importation or sale
of liquor and how to structure the
liquor distribution system. Although
States retain substantial discretion
to establish other liquor regulations,
those controls may be subject to
federal commerce power in appropriate
situations. The competing state and
federal interests can be reconciled
only after careful scrutiny of those
concerns in a 'concrete case.'

445 U.s., at 110.

Last term, in Bacchus Importers,

Ltd. v. Dias, No. 82-1565 (June 29, 1984),
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and Capital Cities Cable, Inc. v. Crisp,

No. 82-1795 (June 18, 1984) the Court
made it clear that the state interests
to be accorded weight are 1limited to
those which stem from the "principles
underlying the Twenty-first Amendment..
.." Bacchus, Slip op., at 11l.
Bacchus involved a state excise
tax designed to protect local manufactu-
rers from out-of-state competition by
raising the effective selling prices of
out-of-state alcoholic beverages in
relation to locally produced products.
Noting that:
A cardinal rule of Commerce Clause
jurisprudence 1is that '[N]Jo State,
consistent with the Commerce Clause,
may impose a tax which discriminates
against interstate commerce. . . by
providing a direct commercial advan-
tage to local business. . . .

Id., slip op., at 4. (citations

omitted), the Court struck-down the tax,

holding that the Twenty-first Amendment

was not designed to empower states to
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favor local liquor industries by erecting
barriers to competition. Id., Slip ob.,
at 12, The Court stated emphatically
that:
State laws that constitute mere
economic protectionism are. . . not
entitled to the same deference as
laws enacted to combat the perceived
evils of an unrestricted traffic in
liquor. '

State regulation of prices in
the distilled spirits industry enacted
with the purpose and intent to protect
local wholesalers by creating a uniform
price floor effective 1in other states
cannot be accorded the deference
nécessary to overcome their obvious
burdensome impact on interstate commerce.
The affirmation statutes, rules and
practices challenged here were not
adopted to promote temperance or to
protect the public health, safety or

morals. They were adopted in an attempt

to requlate the price paid by private
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sector wholesalers and the states
themselves. Moreover, they have that
effect not only in the regulating state,
but also in every other state of the
union. It 1is this extraterritorial
effect which is beyond the protection of
the Twenty-first Amendment and which

violates the Commerce Clause,

CONCLUSION

The 1line of <cases culminating
with the decisions in Bacchus and Crisp
establish a test for balancing con-
flicting state and federal interests.
Bacchus and (Crisp hold that state
regulation of alcohol unrelated to the
control of the inherent evils associated
with alcoholic beverages falls outside
the protection of the Twenty-first
Amendment when it clashes with federal

policy. Given the significant national
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impact of price affirmation, both the
Des Moines Warranties of the Control
States and the challenged statutes and
regulations of the Affirmation Law

States must be invalidated.
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APPENDIX

The following is a compilation
of each Affirmation Law State's affirma-
tion and related statutes and their

accompanying regulations.

ARIZONA

Article 4. | DISCRIMINATION IN
SUPPLYING SPIRITUOUS LIQUORS

§ 4-253, Affirmation; filing:
violation; penalty

A. There shall be filed 1in
connection with, and when filed shall be
deemed part of, the schedule filed for a
brand of spirituous liquor, an affirma-
tion duly verified by the supplier that
the bottle and case price of spirituous
ligquor to wholesalers set forth in the
schedule is no higher than the 1lowest
price at which such item of liquor was
sold by the supplier or any related
person to any wholesalers anywhere in
any other state of the United States or
in the District of Columbia, or to any
state or state agency which owns and
operates retail liquor stores. As used
in this section "related person" means
any person:

1. In the business of which the
supplier has an interest, direct or
indirect, by stock or other security
ownership, as 1lender or 1lienor, or by
interlocking directors or officers:
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2. In the exclusive, principal or
substantial business of selling a brand
or brands of spirituous liquor purchased
from the supplier; or

3. Who has an exclusive franchise
or contract to sell the brand or brands.

* * *

Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 4-253(2a)
(Ssupp. 1984).
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CALIFORNIA

§ 23673. Sale of ©brand distilled
spirits to wholesaler or rectifier;
price; remedies; exemption

No owner of distilled spirits or
his agent shall sell any brand of
distilled spirits to a wholesaler or
rectifier 1in this state at a price
higher than the lowest price at which
such brand of distilled spirits is sold
by such brand owner or his agent to any
wholesaler or rectifier during any
calendar month anywhere in any other
state or in the District of Columbia or
to any state or state agency which owns
or operates retail distilled spirits
stores.

* * *

Cal. Ann. Bus. & Prof. Code § 4-23673
(West Supp. 1984).
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CONNECTICUT

§ 30-63b. Affirmation re price.

(a) At the time of posting of
the bottle, can and case price required
by section 30-63, every holder of a
manufacturer or out-of-state shipper's
permit, or the authorized representative
of a manufacturer, shall file with the
department of liquor control a written
affirmation under oath by the manufactur-
er or out-of-state shipper of each brand
of such alcohol and spirits posted
certifying that at the time of posting,
the bottle, can or case price or price
per Xeg, Dbarrel or fractional unit
thereof, to the wholesaler permittees is
no higher than the lowest price at which
each such item of alcoholic 1liquor is
sold, offered for sale, shipped, trans-
ported or delivered by such manufacturer
or out-of-state shipper to any wholesaler
in any other state of the United States
or in the District of Columbia, or to
any state or agency of a state which
owns and operates retail liquor outlets.

* % *

Conn. Gen. Stat. § 30-63b(a) (1985)
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DELAWARE

§ 508. Affirmation and filing of price
schedules required.

(a) All manufacturers and
distilleries offering for sale in the
State alcoholic liquors other than beer
or wine, shall file by January 15 of
each vyear, or within 30 days of the
first time they become licensed in the
State to sell such alcoholic liquors, a
verified affirmation that the bottle and
case price of all alcoholic liquors,
excluding beer and wine, which such
distillery or manufacturer shall offer
for sale to a Delaware importer will be .
sold to that importer at a price which
is no higher than the lowest price at
which such items will be offered for
sale at the same time by such manufac-
turer or distillery to any wholesaler in
any state or the District of Columbia or
to any state, or state agency, which
owns and/or operates retail liquor
stores.

* * *

Del. Code Ann. tit. 4, § 508(a) (1974).
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FLORIDA
565.15, Price affirmation

(1) Each 6 months, at such
dates as the division shall determine,
each primary American source of supply
authorized to sell distilled spirits to
licensed distributors in Florida shall
submit to the division a duly verified
affirmation that the net prices to be
charged for such distilled spirits, when
computed on a single F.0.B. point-of-
origin basis, whether sold by bottle or
case, will be no higher than the lowest
net prices, when computed as defined in
this chapter, to be <charged to any
distributor in any other state or the
District of Columbia or to any state or
state agency which owns and operates
retail 1liquor outlets during the same
6-month period. Any such primary
American source of supply authorized to
sell distilled spirits to licensed
distributors in Florida may amend such
affirmation by the 15th day of any
month, such amended affirmation to take
effect on the 1lst day of the following
month. Included in such duly filed
affirmation shall be a listing of all of
the licensed distributors in Florida to
whom distilled spirits will be sold
during such period and the net price, by
brand, by bottle or case, to be charged
to such distributors. The net price as
reported in such duly filed or amended
affirmation shall in each event be the
gross price to be charged each distribu-
tor less any allowances or discounts in
cash or merchandise or any other consid-
eration or anything of intrinsic value
to be received by the distributor. The
reporting requirements imposed by this

6a



section shall not apply to transactions
between distributors licensed in Florida.

* * *

Fla. Stat. Ann. § 565.15(1) (West Supp.
1984).
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GEORGIA

560-2~3-.47 Price Affirmation. Every
producer or manufacturer of distilled
spirits shall affirm that the prices at
which he sells to distributors is as low
as the lowest price for which each iden-
tical item is sold anywhere in any state
within the United States.

Georgia Department of Revenue, Alcohol

and Tobacco Tax Unit, Chapter 560-2-3-.47
(1982).
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HAWAII

[PART VIII.] PRICE DISCRIMINATION IN
SUPPLYING LIQUOR

[§281-122] Price discrimination.
No supplier shall sell or offer to sell
to any Hawaii wholesaler any item of
liquor at a price which is higher than
the lowest price at which such item is
currently being sold or offered for sale
by such supplier to any wholesaler in
any other state of the United States or
the District of Columbia or to any state
(or state agency) which owns and
operates retail liquor outlets.

* * %*

[§281-123] Price affirmation;
schedule, etc. Within sixty days after
[June 16, 1980], every supplier desiring
to distribute liquor to a Hawaii
wholesaler shall first file with the
commission:

(1) An affirmation, duly verified,
certifying that such supplier will
not sell or offer to sell any item
of liquor in any state or the
District of Columbia at a price
lower than the price for which the
same item is sold or offered for
sale by such supplier to a Hawaii
wholesaler, and

(2) A current schedule of prices, duly
verified and filed in the number of
copies and form as required by the
commission, for each brand and each
size of liquor sold or offered for
sale in Hawaii by such supplier,
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which prices are not higher than
the lowest price at which the brand
and size are offered for sale by
such supplier to any wholesaler,
distributor, jobber or retailer in
any other state or the District of
Columbia or to any state (or state
agency) which owns and operates
retail 1liquor outlets. On July 1
of each vyear after the 1initial
filing  Thereunder, there shall be
filed a revised schedule at any
time to reflect changed or modified
prices, provided that any price
increase shall not be effective
until thirty days from the date of
such filing.

Hawaii Rev. Stat. §§ 281-122, 281-123
(Supp. 1983).
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KANSAS

41-1101(a) Discrimination in
sales, services or ©prices unlawful;
statement to be filed; duties of
director; exception. (1) It shall be

unlawful for any distributor licensed
under this act to purchase any alcoholic
liquor from any manufacturer, owner of
alcoholic liquor at the time it becomes
a marketable product, exclusive agent of
such manufacturer or owner or distributor
of alcoholic liquor bottled in a foreign
country either within or without this
state, unless such manufacturer, owner,
exclusive agent or distributor shall
file with the director a written state-
ment sworn to by such manufacturer,
owner, exclusive agent or distributor
or, in case of a corporation, one of its
principal officers, agreeing to sell any
of the brands or kinds of alcoholic
liquor manufactured or distributed by
such manufacturer, owner, exclusive
agent or distributor to any distributor
licensed in this state and having a
franchise to distribute such alcoholic
liquor pursuant to K.S.A. 41-410, to
make such sales to all such licensed
distributors in this state at the same
current price and without discrimination
and to file price 1lists showing the
current prices in the office of the
director as often as may be necessary or
required by the director but at least
once each three months.

* * *

41-1112 Manufacturer's and
distributor's price 1lists; requirements
for filing. (a) On the 15th day of
each month every manufacturer or vendor
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filing prices pursuant to K.S.A. 1980
Supp. 41-1101 and whose prices are
required to be filed under the provisions
of K.A.R. 14-4-7 shall file the current
price, and F.0.B., point of shipment, of
each item of alcocholic 1liquor. The
price so filed shall be the price for
which the item shall be sold by such
manufacturer or vendor to licensed
distributors during the second calendar
month immediately following the month in
which the price is required to be filed.

The price so filed shall be as low as
the 1lowest price, after deducting all
advertising, depletion and promotional
allowances and rebates of every kind
made to purchasers, for which the item
will be sold in any other state in the
continental United States by the
manufacturer of the item and by any
vendor of the item who sells the item
under any contract or arrangement with
the manufacturer, during the period in
which the filing is in effect. As used
herein the term "advertising, depletion
and promotional allowances and rebatesg"
shall only mean allowances and rebates
made to wholesalers, distributors,
retailers or other purchasers in those
instances when such allowances or rebates
actually result in the reduction of the
purchase price. When the price of an
item being filed is the same as the
price filed in this state, the director
may require the manufacturer or vendor
of the item to file and affirm the price
by reference to the prior price filing.

At the time of the filing of the
prices every manufacturer or vendor who
has filed prices of alcoholic liquor on
the 15th day of the month shall file an
affirmation that the price of each and
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every item of alcoholic liquor so filed
is as low as the lowest price (determined
as hereinbefore provided) for which the
item of alcoholic liquor will be sold in
any other state in the continental United
States by the manufacturer of the item
and by any vendor of the item who sells
the item under any contract or arrange-
ment with the manufacturer or vendor
during the period in which such filing
is in effect.

* * %*

Kan. Stat. Ann. §§ 41-1101(a), 41-112(a)
(Supp. 1983).
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LOUISIANA

§ 370. Out-of-state manufacturers and
wholesalers to obtain written authority
to make shipment and furnish notice of
shipment; enforcement

* * *

B. Before making shipment of
any alcoholic beverages in Louisiana,
the shipper shall make application to
the collector for authority to ship
alcoholic beverages into the state. The
application must be in written form as
specified by the collector. Approval
must be written and must show the period
of time for which the authority is
issued and the conditions of issuance.
The collector shall not authorize and
approve shipments of any alcoholic
beverages into Louisiana except shipments
from the distiller the producer, the
owner of the commodity at the time it

becomes a marketable product, the
bottler, or the exclusive agent of any
such distiller, producer, bottler or
owner.

The shipper shall prepare and
mail a notice of shipment to the
collector, and a copy to the Louisiana
dealer, not later than the date of move-
ment from the point of origin. The
notice must show such information
concerning the alcoholic beverages and
the means of transportation as may be
specified in regulations.

The collector may establish by
regulation any other procedure for
reporting or identifying shipments into
the state as he may deem appropriate.
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Any shipment into this state of
any alcoholic beverage in violation of
this Subsection shall render the entire
shipment contraband, and it may be
seized, forfeited and so0ld as provided
in this Chapter.

Failure by any shipper to abide
by the provisions of this Subsection
shall also render the shipper ineligible
to ship its products into the state of
Louisiana, and it shall be a violation
of this Chapter for any dealer to handle
the product of any person prohibited
from shipping into the state. The
permit of any dealer who continues to
handle the product of a prohibited
shipper shall be revoked.

Any person or company WwWho sells
liquor to any Louisiana liquor dealers
shall give the same discounts as are
given by them to any liquor dealers in
any other state so that Louisiana liquor
dealers shall pay the same price as
dealers in all other states.

La. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 26:370(b) (West
1975).

15a



MARYLAND

§ 109. Price regulation.

* * *

(e-1) Affirmation by suppliers
of wholesalers.--The Comptroller may
require, by regulation, that suppliers
of wholesalers of distilled spirits
affirm that the net price of each item
offered for sale, exclusive of routine
transportation costs, is no higher than
the lowest price at which such item is
being offered for sale elsewhere within
the United States, including the
District of Columbia.

* * *

Md. Ann. Code. Art. 2B, § 109(cC-1)
(1981).
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MASSACHUSETTS

§ 250. Filing of schedule of minimum
consumer prices; verification; filing
and effective dates; inspection; rules
and regqulations.

(a) No Dbrand of alcoholic
beverages shall be sold within the
commonwealth to a wholesaler or retailer,
and no manufacturer, winegrower, farmer-
brewer or wholesaler shall sell, offer
for sale, solicit any order for, or
advertise, any alcoholic beverages, the
container of which bears a label stating
the brand or the name of the owner or
producer, unless a schedule of minimum
consumer prices for each such brand of
alcoholic Dbeverages shall first have
been filed with the commission and is
then in effect.

* * *

§ 25D. Price Discrimination.

(a) There shall be filed with,
and when filed shall be deemed part of,
the schedule filed for a brand of
alcoholic beverage pursuant to section
twenty-five B an affirmation duly
verified by the owner of such brand of
alcoholic beverage, or by the wholesaler
designated as agent for the purpose of
filing such schedule if the owner of the
brand of alcoholic Dbeverage is not
licensed by the commission, that the
bottle and case price of alcoholic
beverages to wholesalers set forth in
such schedule is no higher than the
lowest price at which such item of
alcoholic beverage was so0ld by such
brand owner or such wholesaler
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designated as agent, or any related
person, to any wholesaler anywhere 1in
any other state of the United States or
in the District of Columbia, or to any
state (or state agency) which owns and
operates retail alcoholic beverage
stores, at any time during the calendar
month immediately preceding the month in
which such schedule is filed. As used
in this paragraph, the term "related
person”™ shall mean any person (1) in the
business of which such brand owner or
wholesaler designated as agent has an
interest, direct or indirect, by stock
or other security ownership, as lender
or lienor, or by interlocking directors
or officers, or (2) the exclusive,
principal or substantial business of
which is the sale of a brand or brands
of alcoholic beverages purchased from
such brand owner or wholesaler designa-
ted as agent, or (3) which has an exclu-
sive franchise or contract to sell such
brand or brands.

(b) There shall be filed with,
and when filed shall be deemed part of,
any other schedule filed for a brand of
alcoholic beverage pursuant to section
twenty-five B an affirmation duly veri-
fied by the person filing such schedule
that the bottle and <case price of
alcoholic beverages to wholesalers set
forth in such schedule is no higher than
the 1lowest price at which such item of
alcoholic beverage was sold by such
- person to any wholesaler anywhere in any
other state of the United States or in
the District of Columbia, or to any
state (or state agency) which owns and
operates retail alcoholic beverage
stores, at any time during the calendar
month immediately preceding the month in
which such schedule is filed.
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* * *

Mass. Gen. Laws Ann. ch. 138, §§ 25cC(a),
25D(a-b) (West Supp. 1985).
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MINNESOTA

340.114. Unlawful discrimination
prohibited.

% %* *

Subd. 3. No licensed importer
or manufacturer shall offer or sell to
any licensed wholesaler any intoxicating
liquor at a bottle or case price which
is higher than the lowest price at which
such item of liquor is contemporaneously
being so0ld by such importer or manufac-
turer to any wholesaler anywhere in any
other state of the United States or in
the District of Columbia or to any state
or state agency which owns and operates
retail liquor stores.

%* * *

Minn. Stat. § 340.114 (Subd. 3) (Supp.
1984).
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NEBRASKA

, 53-170.02. Manufacturer or
importer; sell in Nebraska at higher
price than that of other states;

rohited. No licensed manufacturer or
importer shall sell or offer to sell to
any licensed Nebraska wholesaler, distri-
butor, or jobber any item of alcoholic
liquor, except wine and beer, at a price
which is higher than the lowest price at
which such item is currently being sold
or offered for sale to any wholesaler,
distributor, or Jjobber in anv other
state or the District of Columbia or to
any state agency.

53-170.03. Manufacturer or
importer; file affirmation and schedule
of prices, contents; monthly revision:
price increases; when effective. Within
thirty days after May 15, 1975, each
manufacturer or importer holding a
Nebraska shipper's permit shall file
with the Nebraska Liquor Control
Commission (1) an affirmation that he or
she will not willfully sell or offer to
sell any item of alcoholic 1liquor,
except wine, beer, and brandy, to any
wholesaler, distributor, or Jjobber in
Nebraska at a price higher than the
lowest price for which such item is sold
or offered for sale in any state or the
District of Columbia and (2) a current
schedule or prices for each brand and
each size of alcoholic 1liquor, except
wine, beer, and brandy, sold or offered
for sale in Nebraska, which prices, at
the time of filing, are not higher than
the lowest price at which the brand and
size are offered for sale to any
wholesaler, distributor, or 3jobber in
any state or the District of Columbia or
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to any state agency. This section shall
not preclude a manufacturer or importer
holding a Nebraska shipper's permit from
changing prices to any wholesaler,
distributor, or Jjobber in any state or
the District of Columbia or to any state
agency during the period covered by the
filing in Nebraska. On the fifteenth
day of each month thereafter there shall
be filed with the commission either a
revised schedule or a statement that no
revision 1is Dbeing made. Any price
increase shown in any such revision
shall be made effective forty-five days
from the date of filing. When a
shipper's permit is renewed, a complete
new schedule of prices shall be filed
and copies of all schedules previously
filed may be destroyed by the commission.

Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 53-170.02, 53-170.03
(1978).
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NEW JERSEY

13:2-24.5. Supplier pricing and
marketing information

(a) Every manufacturer,
supplier, winery, brewer, importer,
blender or rectifier intending to sell
alcoholic beverages to wholesalers or
distributors within this State shall:

%* %* *

3. Prior to any sale or delivery
of distilled spirit alocholic beverages,
or annually by August 1 of each vyear,
file with the Division a written
statement under oath affirming that its
prices to New Jersey wholesalers and
distributors have not been and will not
be a price or discount higher than the
lowest price or lower than the highest
discount which has been or will Dbe .
offered to any wholesaler or distributor
or state agency (which operates retail
stores) in any other State of the United
States or in the District of Columbia.

N.J. Admin. Code tit. 13, § 2-24.5(a)(3)
(1980).
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NEW MEXICO

60-8A-12(3). Filing of schedules
required.

A, No brand of alcoholic
beverages shall be sole to or purchased
by a wholesaler, irrespective of the
place of sale or delivery, unless a
price and discount schedule 1is filed
with the director and is - then in effect.

* * *

60-8A-15. Filing of affirmation.

The - owner of a brand of
alcoholic beverages shall file as part
of the schedule a [verified affirmation
that the price to New Mexico wholesalers
is no greater than the lowest price at
which the item of alcoholic beverages is
sold by the brand owner or any related
person to any wholesaler anywhere in any
other state of the United States or in
the District of Columbia, or to any
state or state agency which owns and
operates retail liquor stores.] As used
in this section, "related person" means
any person:

A. 1in any business in which the
brand owner has an interest, direct or
indirect, by stock or other security
ownership, as 1lender or lienor or by
interlocking director or officer:

B. in the exclusive, principal
or substantial business of selling a
brand of alcoholic beverages purchased
from the brand owner:; or
23a



C. who has an exclusive fran-
chise or contract to’ sell the brand of
alcoholic beverages.

N.M., Stat. Ann. §§ 60-8a-12(A), 60-8A-15
(1981).
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NEW_YORK
§ 101-b-3

* * *

3(4) There shall be filed in
connection with and when filed shall be
deemed part of the schedule filed for a
brand of 1liquor pursuant to paragraph
(a) of this subdivision an affirmation
duly verified by the owner of such brand
of 1liquor, or Dby the wholesaler desig-
nated as agent for the purpose of filing
such schedule if the owner of the brand
of liquor is not licensed by the author-
ity, that the bottle and case price of
liquor to wholesalers set forth in
schedule is no higher than the lowest
price at which such item of liquor will
be sold by such brand or such wholesaler
designated as agent, or any related
person, to any wholesaler anywhere in
any other state of the United States or
in the District of Columbia, or to any
state (or state agency) which owns and
operates retail 1liquor stores (i) at
any time during the calendar month for
which such schedule shall be in effect,
and (ii) if a like affirmation has been
filed at least once but was not filed
during the calendar month immediately
preceding the month in which such
schedule is filed, then also at any time
during the calendar months not exceeding
six immediately preceding the month in
which such schedule shall be in effect
and succeeding the last calendar month
during which a like affirmation was in
effect. As used in this paragraph (4),
the term "related person"” shall mean any
person (1) in the business of which such
brand owner or wholesaler designated as
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agent has an interest, direct or
indirect, by stock or other security
ownership, as 1lender or 1lienor, or by
interlocking directors or officers, or
(2) the exclusive, principal or substan-
tial business of which is the sale of a
brand or brands of liquor purchased from
such brand owner or wholesaler designated
as agent, or (3) which has an exclusive
franchise or contract to sell such brand
or brands.

* * *

N.Y. Alco. Bev. Cont. Law § 101-b-3(4d)
(Consol. 1980). .
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OKLAHOMA

§ 536.1. Limitation on price of
distillers' sales

No distiller shall sell
alcoholic Dbeverages to a wholesaler
licensed under the Alcoholic Beverage
Control Actl at a rate higher than the
lowest rate at which such distiller
sells in any other state.

Okla. Stat. Ann. tit. 37, § 536.1 (West
Supp. 1985).

lgection 501 et seq. of this title.
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RHODE ISLAND

3-6-14.1 Affirmation of price
compliance. -- No holder of a certifi-
cate of compliance for distilled spirits
or vinous beverages shall ship, transport
or deliver within this state, or sell or
offer for sale(,) to a wholesaler, any
brand of distilled spirits or vinous
beverages at a bottle or case price
higher than the 1lowest price at which
such item is then being sold or offered
for sale or shipped, transported or
delivered by such holder of a certificate
of compliance to any wholesaler in any
other state of the United States or in
the District of Columbia or to any state,
including an agency of such state, which
owns and operates retail liquor outlets.

Prior to the shipment of such
distilled spirits or vinous beverages,
the holder of a certificate of compli-
ance, or the authorized representative
of such holder, shall file with the
liquor control administrator a written
affirmation under oath by the holder of
the certificate of compliance certifying
that the bottle or case price to the
wholesaler will be no higher than the
lowest price at which each such item of
distilled spirits or vinous beverages is
or will be sold, offered for sale,
shipped, transported or delivered by
such holder to any wholesaler in any
other state in the United States or in
the District of Columbia, or to any
state or agency of a state which owns
and operates retail liquor outlets, at
any time during the calendar month in
which such shipment is being made.
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In determining the 1lowest price
for which any item or distilled spirits
or vinous beverages 1is or was sold,
offered for sale, shipped, transported
or delivered during such month by the
holder of a certificate of compliance to
a wholesaler in any other state or in
the District of Columbia or to any state
or state agency which owns and operates
retail liquor outlets, appropriate
reductions will be made for all
discounts, rebates, free goods, allow-
ances and other inducements of any kind
whatever offered or given to any such
wholesaler in another state or in the
District of Columbia or to any state
agency which owns and operates retail
liquor outlets; provided that differen-
tials in price which make only due
allowances for differences in state
taxes and fees and for the actual cost
of delivery are permissible. As used
herein the term "state taxes and fees"
shall mean the excise taxes imposed or
the fees required by any state or the
District of Columbia upon or based upon
a gallon of alcoholic 1liquor and the
term "gallon™ shall mean one hundred
twenty-eight (128) fluid ounces.

By and with the consent of the
liquor control administrator, a holder
of a certificate of compliance may file
the affirmation required by this section
once and may certify thereon that such
affirmation shall remain in full force
and effect until rescinded by such
holder of a certificate of compliance
and such notice of rescission shall be
given at least fifteen (15) days before
its effective date. 1In the event of the
rescission of an affirmation, such
holder of a certificate of compliance
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shall not ship, transport, deliver, sell
or offer to sell to any wholesaler until
a new affirmation 1is filed with the
liquor "control administrator in
accordance with the provisions of this
section.

The liquor control administrator
shall enforce the provisions of this
section and make such regulations as
shall be necessary to carry out its
provisions.

R.I. Gen. Laws § 3-6-14.1 (197s6).
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SOUTH CAROLINA

§ 61-7-100. Producers shall file affir-
mation brands will be so0ld to State
wholesalers in parity with lowest
nationwide price schedule.

Every registered producer of
alcoholic liquors shall, at the time of
application for registration in this
State, file with the Alcoholic Beverage
Control Commission an affirmation of
corporate policy with regard to sales of
all Dbrands owned, controlled, sold,
offered for sale, franchised or distri-
buted by such producer in this State.
[The affirmation shall certify that the
producer shall not wilfully sell or
offer for sale any alcoholic liquors of
a particular brand and proof in any
State in the United States at a price
lower than the price such liquors are
sold or offered for sale to licensed
South Carolina wholesalers.]

"Price" as used in this section
shall mean platform price at the
distillery and shall not include price
differentials based on transportation
costs, containers or other costs not
directly related to the quality and
proof of the product concerned. Quantity
discount prices for 1liquors sold to
monopoly states or elsewhere shall not
be considered to be violations of the
producer's affirmation if such discount
prices are also offered to South Carolina
wholesalers for purchases in the same
quantities.
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Any registered producer who
fails to file such affirmation or
wilfully violates the pledges contained
therein shall have its registration and
privileges to import and sell alcoholic
liquors in the State refused, cancelled
or suspended at the discretion of the
Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission
for such periods as the Commission may
deem necessary and proper.

Any producer may appeal a
judgment of the Alcoholic Beverage
Control Commission to the circuit court
of Richland County.

S.C. Code Ann. § 61-7-100 (Law Co-op
1976).
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TENNESSEE

57-3-202. Manufacturer's or distiller's
licenses -Qualifications of applicants
-~ Fees -- Permits to solicit orders --
Affirmation of corporate price policy --
Penalty -- Rules and regulations. --

(e) (1) Every manufacturer,
distiller, rectifier, factor, broker, or
vintner of alcoholic spirituous beverages
or vintage alcoholic beverages shall,
before offering for sale to any licensed
wholesaler or distributor in the state
of Tennessee any brand of alcoholic
spirituous beverages or vintage alcoholic
beverages, file with the alcocholic
beverage commission [an affirmation of
corporate policy with regard to sales of
all TDbrands owned, controlled, sold,
offered for sale, franchised or distrib-
uted by such manufacturer, distiller,
rectifier, factor, broker or vintner in
this state;

(2) The affirmation shall
certify that the manufacturer, distiller,
rectifier, factor, Dbroker or vintner
shall not willfully sell or offer for
sale any alcoholic spirituous beverages
or vintage alcoholic beverages of a
particular brand, proof or size, 1in
Tennessee at a price higher than the
price such liquors are sold or offered
for sale to licensed wholesalers in any
other state in the United States:;

(3) "Price" as wused in this
subsection shall mean platform price at
the distillery and shall not include
price differentials based on transporta-
tion costs, containers or other costs
not directly related to the quality and
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proof of the product concerned.
Quantity discount prices for 1liquors
sold to monopoly states or ‘elsewhere
shall not be considered to be violation
of the manufacturer's, distiller's,
rectifier's, broker's, or vintner's
affirmation fo such discount prices are
also offered to Tennessee wholesalers
for purchases in the same quantities;

* * %*

Tenn. Code Ann. § 57-3-202(e)(1-3)
(1980).
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