
Legalization
Eighteen states, two territories, and the District of Columbia have legalized small
amounts of cannabis (marijuana) for adult recreational use. In late June,
Connecticut became the latest state to legalize the recreational use of cannabis
with the passage of SB 1201. Some aspects of the bill do not take effect
immediately, but those 21 years old and higher will be able to recreationally use
cannabis starting July 1, 2021. On April 7, 2021, Virginia's legislature accepted
the governor's recommended amendments for a significantly speedier
implementation window for HB 2312 which would legalize recreational cannabis
use in Virginia and establish a regulated commercial market. New York legalized
cannabis with the governor's signature of AB 1248, which was passed during New
York's 2021 session. Additionally, on March 30, 2021, New Mexico's legislature
introduced its Cannabis Regulation Act within their first special session. The
bill, HB 2a, has been signed by the Governor.

In the 2020 elections, South Dakota voters passed Constitutional Amendment A
(54%). Quickly after the amendment passed, it was challenged in court. On
Feb. 8, 2021 Circuit Judge Christina Klinger ruled that the measure was
unconstitutional. The map below summarizes cannabis policy throughout the
states as of June 2021.
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Cannabis Overview

https://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2021&bill_num=1201
https://sdsos.gov/elections-voting/assets/2020_CA_LegalizeMarijuana_AGStatement.pdf


History

Colorado and Washington approved adult-use recreational marijuana measures in
2012. Alaska, Oregon and District of Columbia followed suit in fall of 2014. In
2015, Ohio voters defeated a ballot measure that addressed commercial
production and sale of recreational marijuana. On Nov. 8, 2016, voters in four
states, California, Maine, Massachusetts and Nevada, approved adult-use
recreational marijuana, while voters in Arizona disapproved. In 2018, Michigan
voters approved “Proposal 1” by a margin of 56 percent to 44 percent to legalize,
regulate, and tax marijuana in the state. In 2018, Vermont became the first state to
legalize marijuana for adult use through the legislative process (rather than a
ballot initiative.) Vermont’s law went into effect July 1, 2018. In May 2019, the
Illinois General Assembly passed the Cannabis Regulation and Tax Act, House
Bill 1438 and the Governor signed the legislation in June. Recently, New Jersey
(AB 21) legalized certain personal use, while removing marijuana as a schedule I
drug.

Study Efforts

On March 16, 2021, NPR's Planet Money released a newsletter entitled The Data
On Legalizing Weed. The newsletter discusses studies on crime rates, traffic
accidents, prices, jobs, state budgets, and state workers' comp programs.

In 2020, Virginia adopted SJR 67 - having Virginia begin it's journey to join the
other states in legalizing cannabis for recreational use. The resolution begins a
study requiring recommendations for implementing legalization by July 1, 2022.

In 2018, study bills were filed in Hawaii, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New
Mexico, North Dakota and Rhode Island. The measures in New Hampshire and
Rhode Island were enacted and established commissions to study the legalization,
regulation and taxation of marijuana.

Repeal Efforts

Bills to repeal voter initiatives approving adult-use legal marijuana were
introduced in 2018 but did not pass in Washington. On February 8, 2021 Circuit
Judge Christina Klinger ruled that South Dakota’s Constitutional Amendment A
was unconstitutional.

http://www.sos.state.co.us/pubs/elections/Initiatives/ballot/contacts/2012.html
https://wei.sos.wa.gov/agency/osos/en/press_and_research/PreviousElections/2012/General-Election/Pages/Online-Voters-Guide.aspx
https://wei.sos.wa.gov/agency/osos/en/press_and_research/PreviousElections/2012/General-Election/Pages/Online-Voters-Guide.aspx
https://www.elections.alaska.gov/petitions/13PSUM/13PSUM-Proposed-Law.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/olcc/marijuana/Documents/Measure91.pdf
http://vig.cdn.sos.ca.gov/2016/general/en/pdf/text-proposed-laws.pdf#prop64
http://maine.gov/sos/cec/elec/upcoming/index.html
http://apps.azsos.gov/election/2016/BallotMeasure/BallotMeasureList.htm
https://www.michigan.gov/sos/0,4670,7-127-1633_8723-428570--,00.html
https://legislature.vermont.gov/assets/Documents/2018/Docs/ACTS/ACT086/ACT086%20As%20Enacted.pdf
https://www.npr.org/sections/money/2021/03/16/976265525/the-data-on-legalizing-weed


Federalism

Recently, Michigan (HR 151) urged Congress of the United States to clarify its
position on the legality of marijuana under the Federal Controlled Substances Act.
Several bills before state legislatures in 2018 addressed the federal role in
marijuana policies. California passed a resolution urging Congress to pass
legislation that would allow financial institutions to provide services to the
cannabis industry. Bills or resolutions were introduced in 2018 in Alaska
California, Georgia, Iowa, Massachusetts Michigan, New Jersey, and
Pennsylvania call on Congress to reschedule or otherwise allow state authority for
marijuana policy. NCSL has sent a letter to Congress in 2018 in support of a
recently introduced bill to protect state sovereignty with respect to marijuana
regulation. NCSL also sent a letter in support of language prohibiting the DOJ
from using justice funding for enforcement actions against states with legal
medical marijuana laws. NCSL’s Law, Criminal Justice and Public Safety
committee also recently enacted a policy resolution on cannabis.

Under federal law, marijuana is still a Schedule I illegal substance.

Decriminalization
Twenty-seven states and the District of Columbia have decriminalized small
amounts of marijuana. This generally means certain small, personal-consumption
amounts are a civil or local infraction, not a state crime (or are a lowest
misdemeanor with no possibility of jail time). In 2014 and preceding the
successful legalization ballot measure, the District of Columbia enacted
legislation, which passed congressional review, and made possession or transfer
without remuneration of one ounce or less of marijuana a civil violation.

https://www.ncsl.org/documents/statefed/STATES_Act_Support_Letter060718.pdf
https://www.ncsl.org/documents/statefed/Letter_Marijuana_Leahy_Amendment.pdf
https://www.ncsl.org/ncsl-in-dc/task-forces/policies-law-and-criminal-justice.aspx#cannabis


Decriminalization Enactments 2020

Delaware (S 45) makes the possession, use, or consumption of a
personal use quantity of marijuana a civil violation for juveniles.
New Jersey (AB 5342) revises consequences for underage possession
or consumption of various forms of cannabis.
Virginia (HB 972) decriminalizes simple marijuana possession and
provides a civil penalty, if such person is smoking, consuming, or
otherwise ingesting marijuana in a public place at the time of the
violation.

Decriminalization Enactments 2013 - 2019

In 2019, Hawaii passed House Bill 1383. When the bill goes into
effect Jan. 11, 2020, possession of three grams or less of marijuana
will punishable by a $130 fine.  
New Mexico also passed HB 323 in 2019 and it went into effect on
July 1, 2019. The penalty for the possession of up to a half an ounce of
marijuana is a $50 civil fine, instead of potential jail time.
In 2019, North Dakota passed House Bill 1050. The bill goes into
effect August 1, 2019 and reclassifies possession of up to a half an
ounce of marijuana as an infraction that carries a maximum fine of
$1000.
In 2017, New Hampshire became the latest state to decriminalize (HB
640) small amounts of marijuana. Fines for possession of up three-
quarters of an ounce of marijuana were reduced from $2,000 to just
$100 for a first or second offense. In 2016, New Hampshire passed
legislation (SB 498) that made possession of one ounce or less of
marijuana an unspecified misdemeanor, stopping short of
decriminalization.
In 2016, the Illinois General Assembly enacted and the governor
signed legislation (SB 2228) to decriminalize 10 grams or less of
marijuana, making it an infraction that does not result in a criminal
record. 
In early 2016, the Maryland General Assembly overrode the
governor's veto of a 2015 measure (SB 517) that decriminalized
marijuana paraphernalia and imposes civil fines of $500 for public
cannabis use.
In 2019, New York enacted Senate Bill 6589, which made possession
of less than one ounce a violation punishable by $200.00 fine.

https://www.capitol.hawaii.gov/measure_indiv.aspx?billtype=HB&billnumber=1383


Penalties

Other state actions have reduced criminal penalties for marijuana convictions,
generally following a trend to reduce adverse consequences of some marijuana
crimes. In the past decade, legislation in at least 16 states have amended
marijuana penalties.

Significant legislation in 2019 & 2020 affecting marijuana penalties included:

Delaware (S 47) did an overhaul to its drug code with a goal of
providing more fairness in its application; removing geographic based
enhancements that disproportionately impact those living in urban
areas as opposed to suburban and rural areas; reduces the number of
weight tiers; enhanced penalties for delivering cannabis in a school or
on school property while in session with enrolled students exempt
from the violation.
Illinois (H 160) enhanced penalties for delivering cannabis in a school
or on school property.

Significant legislation in 2017 affecting marijuana penalties included:

Kansas (SB 112) reduced the severity level for unlawful possession for
drug paraphernalia from a class A to a class B non-person
misdemeanor.
Montana’s sweeping sentencing bill (HB 133) includes provisions that
reduced penalties for possession of marijuana under 60 grams to a
misdemeanor with no jail time.
North Dakota (HB 1041) reduced the drug possession (including
marijuana) charge level from a Class C felony to a Class A
misdemeanor for first-time offenders and establishes probation as the
presumptive sentence for low-level, nonviolent felonies. Another bill
(HB 1269) reduced mandatory minimum sentences for controlled
substances including marijuana.
To create consistency in state law in response to Measure 91, Oregon
enacted (SB 302) which repealed some penalties related to unlawful
possession of marijuana.
West Virginia (HB 2579) increased the penalties for transporting
controlled substances into the state but provided a differing, lesser
penalty for an offense involving marijuana.



Significant legislation in 2016 affecting marijuana penalties included:

Vermont (HB 858) raised to one ounce the amount of marijuana being
unlawfully sold or dispensed for which an imprisonment penalty
applies.
Indiana lawmakers enacted a penalty measure (SB 290) that sets
amounts of drugs for which a person may be convicted of possession
with intent to deliver without additional evidence of trafficking. The
marijuana amount is 10 pounds or more.
A Maryland enactment (HB 565) made possession of 10 grams or
more of marijuana a misdemeanor.
In Minnesota, an act (SB 3481) modified threshold amounts for
several drugs, including marijuana. The enactment also created new
possession crimes for specified amounts of marijuana plants and a new
gross misdemeanor offense for possession offenses involving trace
amounts of drugs.
Oklahoma (HB 2479) shortened sentences for many drug crimes,
including marijuana possession.
An enactment in Louisiana decreased criminal penalties for some drug
paraphernalia offenses and also removed such offenses as a predicate
conviction for sentence enhancement purposes.
A justice reinvestment act in Maryland (HB 1312) addressed
mandatory penalties for possession and distribution of 50 pounds or
more of marijuana.
A Delaware (HB 332) enactment allows probation before judgment for
misdemeanor marijuana offenses.

Significant legislation in 2015 affecting marijuana penalties included:

Utah lawmakers enacted broad sentencing and corrections reform
legislation (HB 348) that included reduction of most marijuana
penalties to misdemeanors.
A Connecticut act (HB 7104) created a new penalty structure that
makes half an ounce or more of marijuana a Class A misdemeanor
instead of a felony. Other drug possession also became a misdemeanor
rather than a felony, while courts have options for repeat offenses.
An act in Wyoming in 2015 (SB 38) provided for deferred prosecution
for first offenses of using or being under the influence of controlled
substances, including marijuana.



The North Dakota Legislative Assembly enacted a bill (HB 1394) that
reduced from a Class A to a Class B misdemeanor the possession of
less than one ounce of marijuana.
Legislation approved in Louisiana (HB 149) created graduated
penalties for marijuana possession based on amounts and number of
convictions. 
And a 2015 Texas act (HB 642) allows judges to require that minors
who possess marijuana participate in drug education programming.

Significant legislation in 2014 affecting marijuana penalties included:

A Mississippi (HB 585) measure addressed drug courts and penalties
for certain drug possession offenses, including marijuana.
Utah (SB 205) provided that increased sentences for some drug
possession crimes, including marijuana, may not result in an offense
greater than a second-degree felony. 
Oklahoma legislation (SB 1875) allows a deferred sentence for certain
drug offenders, including marijuana, and provides for no conviction
record upon completion of conditions.

Record Clearing
Forty-one states, two territories, and the District of Columbia all have record
clearing laws which may apply to cannabis. Of these, seven states record clearing
laws specifically address cannabis offenses. For additional information see our
Cannabis Record Clearing resource.

Significant legislation in 2020 related to expungement:

Michigan (HB 4982) modifies the set-aside process for certain
marihuana offenses.
New Jersey (AB 1897) raises awareness for available expungement
relief for cannabis offenses.

Significant legislation in 2019 related to expungement:

Illinois’ 2019 Cannabis Regulation and Tax Act allows the state to
automatically grant clemency to residents who were convicted for
possessing up to 30 grams of cannabis. A person can also petition a

https://www.ncsl.org/default.aspx?tabid=34695


court to get charges rescinded if they were convicted with between 30
and 500 grams of cannabis.
New Hampshire enacted House Bill 399 in 2019, which provides an
opportunity for those convicted of offenses involving the possession of
three-quarters of one ounce of cannabis or less to petition the court to
have their convictions annulled. If the prosecuting attorney does not
object to the request within ten days, the petition will be granted.
Nevada passed a broad decriminalization measure that included
marijuana offenses. Assembly Bill 192 allows those who have been
convicted of misdemeanor cannabis possession charges to apply for
expungement.
In 2019, the Washington legislature passed Senate Bill 5605 that
vacates misdemeanor marijuana convictions.

Significant legislation in 2018 related to expungement:

California (AB 1793) addresses expungement of records. Proposition
64, the ballot measure that legalized recreational marijuana use for
people 21 and older also contained language for the “resentencing and
destruction of records for prior marijuana convictions”. A process for
the expungement of records was not specified in the ballot measure
and AB 1793 established such a process. The Department of Justice
must now search its state criminal history information for eligible
cases from 1975 to 2016 and notify prosecutors of all eligible cases in
their jurisdiction. Prosecutors across the state have one year to
challenge any case they do not agree is eligible for resentencing, case
dismissal or expungement. 
Massachusetts (M.G.L c276 § 100A and M. G.L. c. 94G, § 13) allows
the sealing of records for offenses that are no longer crimes, therefore,
a past criminal case for possession of marijuana under 2 ounces can be
sealed without a waiting period.
Delaware enacted 2017 Senate Bill 197, which provides for automatic
expungement of both conviction and arrest records for those charged
or convicted of certain marijuana offenses prior to December 18, 2015.

Significant legislation in 2017 related to expungement:

Colorado (HB 1266) now allows defendants convicted of
misdemeanor offense for use or possession of marijuana to petition to

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/App/NELIS/REL/80th2019/Bill/6296/Text
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=5605&Initiative=false&Year=2019


seal criminal records if offense would not have been a crime if
committed on or after Dec. 10, 2012.

Maryland (SB 949) reduced the waiting period for expungement of a
marijuana possession offense from 10 years to four years.
The Nevada Assembly and Senate both passed a measure (AB 259)
that would have permitted those with criminal convictions for offenses
involving the possession of one ounce or less of marijuana prior to Jan.
1, 2017 to have their convictions vacated. The measure was vetoed by
the governor.

Significant legislation in 2016 related to expungement:

Missouri (SB 588) expanded eligibility for, reduces waiting periods,
and creates presumption in favor of expungement if certain criteria are
met, for all misdemeanors and many felonies, including but not limited
to marijuana crimes. 
New Hampshire (SB 391) amended to 2 years the waiting period for
petitioning for annulment of a misdemeanor marijuana or hashish
offense.
An Oregon enactment (SB1598) instructed courts with respect to
expungement orders for marijuana convictions for offenses that no
longer are a crime.

Significant legislation in 2015 related to expungement:

Following the successful legalization ballot measure there, an act in
Oregon (SB 364) now requires courts to consider set-aside of records
of certain misdemeanor marijuana offenses when probation has been
successfully completed; and another Oregon act (SB 844) made
eligible for expunction an adjudication for marijuana possession
crimes.
Laws in Maryland (SB 651) and Vermont (SB 115) allow
expungement of an offense for which the underlying conduct is no
longer a criminal offense. Similarly, a Rhode Island act (SB 518)
provided that records of marijuana violations are not open to the
public.

Additional Resources
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