Welcome to the United Nations. It's your world.

Search UN Website



UN Home
Main Page
Committee of 24
Regional Seminars
Fourth Committee
Documents
Press Releases

History

International Trusteeship System

Trust and Non-Self-Governing Territories (1945-2002)

Trusteeship Council

Trust Territories that have achieved self-determination

Historical Documents

Resources

Contact Us

New on the site

Video: PACC Tokelau: Vital Health



Trust and Non-Self-Governing Territories (1945-1999)

The following Territories have been subject to United Nations Trusteeship Agreements or were listed by the General Assembly as Non-Self-Governing. Dates show the year of independence or other change in a Territory's status, after which information was no longer submitted to the United Nations.

- Administering States -

| AUSTRALIA | BELGIUM | DENMARK | FRANCE | ITALY | NETHERLANDS | | NEW ZEALAND | PORTUGAL | SOUTH AFRICA | SPAIN | UNITED KINGDOM | UNITED STATES |

Administering Power/ Authority	Territory	Status	Year
Australia	Cocos (Keeling) Islands	Change in Status	1984
	Papua	Independence as Papua New Guinea	1975
	Nauru Trust Territory	Independence	1968
	New Guinea Trust Territory	Independence as Papua New Guinea	1975
Belgium	Belgian Congo	Independence as Congo Leopoldville, then Zaire Now Democratic Republic of the Congo	1960
	Ruanda-Urundi Trust Territory	Independence as Burundi	1962
		Independence as Rwanda	1962
Denmark	Greenland	Change in Status	1954
France	French Equatorial Africa	Independence as Chad	1960

	Independence as Gabon	1960
(Middle Congo)	Independence as Congo (Brazzaville) Now Republic of the Congo	1960
(Ubangi Shari)	Independence as Central African Republic	1960
French Establishments in India	Change in Status	1947
French Establishments in Oceania	Change in Status	1947
French Guiana	Change in Status	1947
French Somaliland	Independence as Djibouti	1977
French West Africa	Independence as Dahomey Now Benin	1960
(French Guinea)	Independence as Guinea	1958
(French Sudan)	Independence as Mali	1960
	Independence as Ivory Coast	1960
	Independence as Mauritania	1960
(Niger Colony)	Independence as Niger	1960
	Independence as Senegal	1960
	Independence as Upper Volta Now Burkina-Faso	1960
Guadeloupe and Dependencies	Change in Status	1947
Indo-China	Independence as Cambodia	1953
	Independence as Laos	1949
	Independence as Viet Nam	1945
Madagascar and Dependencies	Independence as Madagascar	1960
	Independence as Comoros	1975
Martinique	Change in Status	1947
Morocco	Independence	1956
New Caledonia ¹ and Dependencies	Change in Status	1947
New Hebrides (Under Anglo-French Condominium)	Independence as Vanuatu	1980

	Reunion	Change in Status	1947
	St. Pierre and Miquelon	Change in Status	1947
	Tunisia	Independence	1956
	Cameroons Trust Territory	Independence as Cameroon	1960
	French Togoland Trust Territory	Independence as Togo	1960
Italy	Somaliland Trust Territory	Independence as Somalia (joined with British Somaliland)	1960
Netherlands	Netherlands Indies	Independence as Indonesia	1949
	Netherlands New Guinea	Joined with Indonesia as Irian Jaya	1963
	Netherlands Antilles	Change in Status	1951
	Surinam	Change in Status	1951
		Independence as Suriname	1975
New Zealand	Cook Islands	Change in Status	1965
	Niue Island	Change in Status	1974
	Western Samoa Trust Territory	Independence as Samoa	1962
Portugal	Angola, including the enclave of Cabinda	Independence	1975
	Cape Verde Archipelago	Independence as Cape Verde	1975
	Goa and Dependencies	Change in Status	1961
	Portuguese Guinea	Independence as Guinea Bissau	1974
	Macau and Dependencies	Change in Status	1972
	Mozambique	Independence	1975

	Sao Jo _ĉ o Batista de Ajuda	Change in Status	1961
	Sao Tome and Principe	Independence	1975
	East Timor ²	Independence as Timor Leste	2002
South Africa	South West Africa	General Assembly terminated South Africa's mandate	1966
		Independence as Namibia	1990
Spain	Fernando Póo and Rí Muni	Independence as Equatorial Guinea	1968
	Ifni	Change in Status	1969
United Kingdom	Aden Colony and	Independence as South Yemen	1967
Cimou i migueiii	Protectorate		
	Bahamas	Independence	1973
	Barbados	Independence	1966
	Basutoland	Independence as Lesotho	1966
	Bechuanaland Protectorate	Independence as Botswana	1966
	British Guiana	Independence as Guyana	1966
	British Honduras	Independence as Belize	1981
	British Somaliland	Independence as Somalia (joined with Italian Somaliland)	1960
	Brunei	Independence Now Brunei Darussalam	1984
	Cyprus	Independence	1960
	Fiji	Independence	1970
	Gambia	Independence as The Gambia	1965
	Gilbert and Ellice Islands Colony	Independence as Kiribati	1979
	,	Independence as Tuvalu	1978
	Gold Coast Colony and Protectorate	Independence as Ghana	1957

Hong Kong	Change in Status	1972
Jamaica	Independence	1962
Kenya	Independence	1963
Leeward Islands		
(Antigua)	Independence as Antigua and Barbuda	1981
(St. Kitts- Nevis-Anguilla)	Independence as St. Kitts and Nevis (separated from Anguilla)	1983
Malayan Union	Independence as Federation of Malaya Now Malaysia [3]	1957
Malta	Independence	1964
Mauritius	Independence	1968
Nigeria	Independence	1960
North Borneo 3	Change in status	1963
Northern Rhodesia	Independence as Zambia	1964
Nyasaland	Independence as Malawi	1964
Sarawak ³	Change in status	1963
Seychelles	Independence	1976
Sierra Leone	Independence	1961
Singapore ³	Independence	1965
Solomon Islands	Independence	1978
Southern Rhodesia	Independence as Zimbabwe	1980
Swaziland	Independence	1968
Trinidad and Tobago	Independence	1962
Uganda	Independence	1962
Windward Islands		
(Dominica)	Independence as Dominica	1978
(Grenada)	Independence as Grenada	1974

	(St. Lucia)	Independence as St. Lucia	1979
	(St. Vincent)	Independence as St. Vincent and the Grenadines	1979
	Zanzibar	Independence ⁴ as United Republic of Tanganyika and Zanzibar Now Republic of Tanzania	1963
	Cameroons Trust Territory	Northern Cameroons joined with Nigeria	1961
		Southern Cameroons joined with Cameroon	1961
	Togoland Trust Territory	Joined Gold Coast to form Ghana	1957
	Tanganyka Trust Territory	Independence ³ as United Republic of Tanganyika and Zanzibar after joining with Zanzibar Now Republic of Tanzania	1963
United States	Alaska	Change in Status	1959
	Hawaii	Change in Status	1959
	Panama Canal Zone	Change in Status	1947
	Puerto Rico	Change in Status	1952
	Pacific Islands Trust Territory	Change in Status as Federated Sates of Micronesia	1990
		Change in Status as Republic of the Marshall Island	1990
		Change in Status as Northern Mariana Islands	1990
		Change in Status as Palau	1994

Notes:

- 1. In 1986 the General Assembly determined that New Caledonia was a Non-Self-Governing Territory.
- 2. Initially administered by Portugal. Under Indonesian control between 1975 and 1999. East Timor attained independence in May 2002 and joined the United Nations in September 2002 as Timor Leste.
- 3. In 1963, the Federation of Malaya became Malaysia, following the admission to the new federation of Singapore, Sabah (North Borneo) and Sarawak. Singapore became independent 1965.
- Copyright | Terms of Use | Privacy Notice | Site Index | Fraud Alert | Contact Us
 4. Following the ratification in 1964 of Articles of Union between Tanganyika and Zanzibar, the United Republic of Tanganyika and Zanzibar was formed and later changed its name to the United Republic of Tanzania.