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Criminal Status of State Drunk Driving Laws

as of July 2003

12.55.135 & 28.35.030(b)

State Citation Status

Alabama §32-5A-191(e), (f),(g) & (h) 4t or subsequent offense is a class C felony
(fewer offenses not classified)

Alaska §§12.55.035, 122.55.125, 15t and 2" offenses are class A misdemeanors

37 or subsequent offense within 5 years is a class C felony

American Samoa

§§22.0707 846.2301(5)

all DUI offenses are class A misdemeanors

Arizona §§13-604, 13-701, 13-707, 13- (15t and 2"9 offense are class 1 misdemeanors
801, 13-802, 28-1382 & 28- 3" or subsequent offense is a class 4 felony
1383
Arkansas §§5-65-111 & 5-65-112 4™ or subsequent offense within 5 years is a felony
(fewer offenses not classified)
California Vehicle Code §§23152, 23550, [non-injury DUI offenses are generally misdemeanors, a 4™ or
& 40000.15 subsequent offense is a felony if offender is sentenced to
incarceration in a state prison
Colorado §§18-1.3-401 & 18-3-205 DUI and impaired offenses are misdemeanors, injury-related

DUI offenses are class 4 felonies

Connecticut

§§14-227a(h), 53a-25 & 53a-
26

1%t and 2™ offenses are misdemeanors, 3™ and subsequent
offenses are felonies

Delaware

11 §4202(b), 21 §§4177(d) &
41778(e)(2)

1%t and 2" offenses are unclassified misdemeanors, 3™ is a
class G felony, 4th or subsequent is a class E felony

DC

DUI offenses are not classified

Florida

§§316.193 & 775.082

15t and 2" offenses are misdemeanors, 3 or subsequent
offense is a 3™ degree felony

Georgia

§40-6-391(c) & (k)

1%t and 2" offenses are misdemeanors, 3™ and subsequent
offenses are high and aggravated misdemeanors

Guam

Title 9 §§80.34, 1.19(b) &
80.30(c), and Title 16,
§§18104, 18105, 18106

15t and 2" non-injury DUI offenses are misdemeanors, 3™

and subsequent non-injury DUI offenses and any injury-
related DUI offenses are third degree felonies

Hawaii

§§ 291E-61, 701-107(5) & 706-
660

15t, 2nd angd 379 offenses are petty misdemeanors, 4" or
subsequent offense is a class C felony

Idaho

§518-8004C(1)(a) &(2)(a), 18-
8005 & 18-8006

15t and 2" offenses are misdemeanors, 2" or subsequent
offense with BAC = .20 is a felony, 3 or subsequent
offenses are felonies, DUI with bodily harm or disfigurement
is a felony

Illinois

625 ILCS 5/11-501 and
730 ILCS 5/5-8-1(a)(7) & 5-8-3
(a)(1)

15t and 2™ offenses are class A misdemeanors, 3™ and
subsequent offenses are class 4 felonies
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Indiana IC9-30-5-1 et seq., IC35-50-2 {lIllegal per se offense with a BAC of .10 to .15 is a class C
6 & 7, & IC35-50-3-2, et seq. misdemeanor; with a BAC of .15 and higher, it is a class A
misdemeanor; for subsequent convictions within 5 years, it is
a class D felony.
Iowa §§3211.2(2) & (3), 707.6A(3), [[1%¢ offense is serious misdemeanor, 2™ offense is aggravated
902.9, 903.1 & 907.3(3)(c) misdemeanor, 3 or subsequent offense Is class D felony
Kansas §§8-1567(d), (e) (f) & (k)(3), &[[15¢ offense is class B non-person misdemeanor, 2" offense is
21-4502(1) a class A non-person misdemeanor, 3" or subsequent
offense is a non-person felony
Kentucky §§189A.010(5), 532.020 & 1%t offense is a class B misdemeanor, 2" offense within 5
532.060 years is a class A misdemeanor, 3™ offense within 5 years
with a BAC under .18 is a class A misdemeanor, 3™ offense
with a BAC of .18 or higher is a class D felony; 4t and
subsequent offenses are class D felonies
Louisiana §14:98 15t and 2" offenses not classified, 3™ offense can be either a
misdemeanor or felony, 4™ offense is a felony
Maine 17-A MRSA §1252, and 29-A 15t, 27 and 3" offenses are class D crime, 4™ or subsequent
MRSA §2411 (5)(D) offenses are class C crime
Maryland Trans. §§21-902, 27-101 et all DUI offenses are misdemeanors
seq., & 27-102
Massachusetts Ch. 90 §24(1)(a) & Ch. 274 §1 [15¢ and 2" offenses are unclassified, 3" and subsequent
offenses are felonies
Michigan §257.625(8) & (10) 15t and 2" offenses are misdemeanors, 3" or subsequent
offenses are felonies
Minnesota 8§8169A.20, et seq. 15 offense is a misdemeanor, 2" and 3" offenses are gross
misdemeanors, and 4th offense within 10 years is a felony
Mississippi §§63-11-30(2)(a) (b) & (c) 15t and 2" offenses are misdem eanors, 34 and subsequent
offenses are felonies
Missouri §§577.010, 577.012, 577.023, |15 intoxication offense Is a class B misdemeanor, 15 per se
558.011 & 560.016 offense is class C misdemeanor, 2" offenses are class A
misdemeanors, 3 or subsequent offenses are class D
felonies
Montana §§61-8-401, 61-8-711(1), 61- {15t 2M and 3™ offenses are misdemeanors, 4™ and
8-714, 61-8-731 & 61-8-734 subsequent offenses are felonies
Nebraska §§28-105, 28-106, 60-6,196 & |[15t and 2"9 offenses and 3™ offense within 12 years are class
60-6,198 W misdemeanors; 4th and subsequent offenses within 12
years are class IV felonies; injury related DUI offenses are
class I1IA felonies
Nevada §§193.120 & 484.3792 15t and 2"? offenses are misdemeanors, 3™ or subsequent
offenses are category B felonies
New Hampshire §§265:9 IV(A), 265:82 et.seq., [[1% - 3™ non-injury DUI offenses are misdemeanors, 4" or
& 651:2I(c) subsequent non-injury DUI offenses are felonies, and DUI
with serious bodily injury is a class B felony
New Jersey State v Hamm 577 A.2d 1259 ||drunk driving is not a "crime”
(NJ 1990)
New Mexico §6§31-18-15 & 66-8-101 4™ offense is a 4th degree felony (fewer offenses not
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classified)

New York

V&T Law §§1192 & 1193(1)(c)

impaired offenses: 1%t offense is a traffic infraction, 2"9 and
subsequent offenses are misdemeanors.

per se offenses: 15t offense is a misdemeanor, 2" offense
within 10 years is a class E felony, 3™ offense within 10
years is a class D felony

North Carolina

§20-138.5

4th or subsequent offense is a class F felony, fewer offenses
are classified as levels 1-5, based on length of sentence

North Dakota

§§12.1-32-01 & 39-08-01 (2) &
(4)

1%t and 2" offenses are class B misdemeanors, 3™ and 4th
offenses are class A misdemeanors, 5t and subsequent
offenses are class C felony

1%t and 2" offenses are 15' degree misdemeanors, 3™

Ohio §8§2929.14, 2929.16, 2929.18
(B)(3), 2929.19(C), 2929.21 & {loffense is a misdemeanor, subsequent offenses are 4
4511.99(A) degree felonies
Oklahoma 47 §11-902 1%t offense is a misdemeanor, 2" and subsequent offenses
are felonies
Oregon §§813.010(4) & (5), 161.605 |15, 2"d and 37 offenses are class A misdemeanors, 4" and

(3) 8 161.615(1)

subsequent offenses are class C felonies

Pennsylvania

18 § 1104(1) & (2) &
75 §3731(e)(1)

15t or 29 offenses are 2"Y degree misdemeanors, 3™ or
subsequent offenses are 15 degree misdemeanors

Puerto Rico

9 §1042

non-injury DUI offenses are misdemeanors, 15t and 2"d
injury DUI offenses are misdemeanors, 3™ or subsequent
injury DUI offenses are felonies

Rhode Island

§811-1-2 & 31-27-2.6

non-injury DUI offenses are misdemeanors, DUI with serious
bodily injuries are felonies

South Carolina

§§16-1-10, 16-1-20, 16-1-90
(F), 16-1-100(A) & (C) & 56-5-
2940

1%t offense Is a misdemeanor, 2" offense is a class C
misdemeanor, 34 offense is a class A misdemeanor, 4t and
subsequent offenses are class F felonies

South Dakota

§§22-6-1, 22-6-2, 32-23-2 et
seq.

15t and 2™ offenses are class 1 misdemeanors, 3™ offense is
a class 6 felony, 4t and subsequent offenses are class 5
felonies

Tennessee

§§ 40-35-111 and 55-10-403

1%t offense is a class B misdemeanor, 2" and 3" offenses
are class A misdemeanors, 4™ and subsequent offenses
within 10 years Is a class E felony

Texas

Penal Code §§12.21, 12.22,
12.34, 49.04 & 49.09

15t offense is a class B misdemeanor, 2" offense within 10
years is a class A misdemeanor, subsequent offenses are 3rd
degree felonies

Utah

§841-6-44 (3), (6) & (7)

15t and 2" offenses are class B misdemeanors, 3 and
subsequent offenses are 3™ degree felonies

Vermont

13 §1 & 23 §1210

1%t and 2™ offenses are misdemeanors, 3™ and subsequent
offenses are felonies

Virginia

§§18.2-10(f), 18.2-11(a) &
18.2-270

15¢ offense and 2"9 offenses within 10 years are class 1
misdemeanors, 3™ offense within 10 years is a class 6
felony.

Virgin Islands

14 §2(b)(1), 20 §493(b) & 20
§544(b)

1%t offense is a misdemeanor, subsequent offenses are

felonies
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Washington §§ 9A.20.021, 46.61.502(5) & [Jall DUI offenses are gross misdemeanors
46.61.504(5)
West Virginia §17C-5-2 15t and 2™ offenses are misdemeanors, 3" and subsequent
offenses are felonies
Wisconsin §§346.63(1) & (2), 346.65(2), [inon-injury DUI offenses are civil convictions, injury-related
346.65(3m), 939.50 & 940.25 ||DUI offenses are class D or class F felonies
Wyoming §§6-10-101 & 31-5-233(e), (9) [Inon-injury DUI offenses are misdemeanors, 18t injury-related
& (h) DUI offense is a misdemeanor, 2"4 or subsequent offenses
are felonies
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