Supreme Court of the United States
Skip Navigation LinksHome | Search Results


Docket for 15-1391
No. 15-1391
Title:
Expressions Hair Design, et al., Petitioners
v.
Eric T. Schneiderman, Attorney General of New York, et al.
Docketed:May 16, 2016
Linked with 15A1020
Lower Ct:United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit
  Case Nos.:(13-4533, 13-4537)
  Decision Date:December 11, 2015
  Rehearing Denied:January 13, 2016
Questions Presented

~~~Date~~~ ~~~~~~~Proceedings  and  Orders~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Apr 1 2016 Application (15A1020) to extend the time to file a petition for a writ of certiorari from April 12, 2016 to May 12, 2016, submitted to Justice Ginsburg.
Apr 5 2016 Application (15A1020) granted by Justice Ginsburg extending the time to file until May 12, 2016.
May 12 2016 Petition for a writ of certiorari filed. (Response due June 15, 2016)
May 24 2016 Order extending time to file response to petition to and including August 1, 2016, for all respondents.
Jun 7 2016 Brief amicus curiae of Marion B. Brechner First Amendment Project filed.
Jun 15 2016 Brief amici curiae of Albertsons LLC, et al. filed.
Jun 15 2016 Brief amici curiae of Consumer Action, et al. filed.
Jun 15 2016 Brief amicus curiae of Cato Institute filed.
Jun 15 2016 Brief amici curiae of First Amendment Scholars filed.
Jun 15 2016 Brief amici curiae of Scholars of Behavioral Economics filed.
Aug 1 2016 Brief of respondent Eric T. Schneiderman, Attorney General of New York in opposition filed.
Aug 1 2016 Letter from counsel for respondents Cyrus Vance, District Attorney of New York County, and Ken P. Thompson, District Attorney of Kings County filed.
Aug 17 2016 DISTRIBUTED for Conference of September 26, 2016.
Aug 17 2016 Reply of petitioners Expressions Hair Design, et al. filed. (Distributed)
Sep 29 2016 Petition GRANTED.
Nov 14 2016 Joint appendix filed. (Statement of costs filed.)
Nov 14 2016 Brief of petitioners Expressions Hair Design, et al. filed.
Nov 17 2016 Brief amicus curiae of Institute for Justice filed.
Nov 21 2016 Brief amicus curiae of United States, in support of neither party filed.
Nov 21 2016 Brief amici curiae of The James Madison Institute, et al. filed.
Nov 21 2016 Brief amici curiae of Retail Litigation Center, et al. filed.
Nov 21 2016 Brief amici curiae of Cato Institute and Pacific Legal Foundation filed.
Nov 21 2016 Brief amici curiae of Consumer Action, et al. filed.
Nov 21 2016 Brief amici curiae of First Amendment Scholars and the First Amendment Lawyers Association filed.
Nov 21 2016 Brief amici curiae of Ahold U.S.A., Inc., et al. filed.
Nov 21 2016 Brief amicus curiae of CardX, LLC filed.
Nov 21 2016 Brief amicus curiae of United States Public Interest Research Group Education Fund, Inc. filed.
Nov 21 2016 Brief amici curiae of Scholars of Behavioral Economics filed.
Nov 21 2016 Brief amicus curiae of Alan S. Frankel filed.
Nov 21 2016 Brief amicus curiae of Professor Adam J. Levitin filed.
Dec 5 2016 SET FOR ARGUMENT on Tuesday, January 10, 2017.
Dec 7 2016 Record requested from the U.S.C.A. 2nd Circuit.
Dec 7 2016 Motion of the Acting Solicitor General for leave to participate in oral argument as amicus curiae and for divided argument filed.
Dec 9 2016 Record received from U.S.C.A. 2nd Circuit is electronic.
Dec 12 2016 CIRCULATED.
Dec 14 2016 Brief of respondent Eric T. Schneiderman, Attorney General of New York filed. (Distributed)
Dec 21 2016 Brief amici curiae of Labor, Environmental, and Civil Rights Organizations filed. (Distributed)
Dec 21 2016 Brief amici curiae of First Amendment Scholars filed. (Distributed)
Dec 21 2016 Brief amicus curiae of Credit Union National Association filed. (Distributed)
Dec 21 2016 Brief amici curiae of National Governors Association, et al. filed. (Distributed)
Dec 21 2016 Brief amici curiae of Action on Smoking and Health, et al. filed. (Distributed)
Dec 21 2016 Brief amici curiae of International Center for Law & Economics and Scholars of Law and Economics filed. (Distributed)
Dec 21 2016 Brief amici curiae of Florida, et al. filed. (Distributed)
Dec 21 2016 Brief amici curiae of Public Citizen, Inc., et al. filed. (Distributed)
Dec 21 2016 Brief amicus curiae of New York Credit Union Association filed. (Distributed)
Dec 21 2016 Brief amici curiae of Constitutional, Administrative, Contracts, and Health Law Scholars filed. (Distributed)
Dec 28 2016 Motion of the Acting Solicitor General for leave to participate in oral argument as amicus curiae and for divided argument GRANTED.
Jan 3 2017 Reply of petitioners Expressions Hair Design, et al. filed. (Distributed)
Jan 10 2017 Argued. For petitioners: Deepak Gupta, Washington, D. C. For United States, as amicus curiae: Eric J. Feigin, Assistant to the Solicitor General, Department of Justice, Washington, D. C. For respondents: Steven C. Wu, Deputy Solicitor General, New York, N. Y.



~~Name~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~    ~~~~~~~Address~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~   ~~Phone~~~
Attorneys for Petitioners:
Deepak Gupta Gupta Wessler PLLC(202) 888-1741
    Counsel of Record1735 20th Street, N.W.
Washington, DC  20009
deepak@guptawessler.com
Party name: Expressions Hair Design, et al.
Attorneys for Respondents:
Richard Dearing Chief of Appeals(212) 356-2500
    Counsel of Record The City of New York Law Department
100 Church Street
New York, NY  10007
rdearing@law.nyc.gov
Party name: Cy Vance and Charles Hynes
 
Barbara D. Underwood Solicitor General(518) 776-2040
    Counsel of Record NY State Office of the Attorney General
The Capitol
Albany, NY  12224
barbara.underwood@ag.ny.gov
Party name: Eric T. Schneiderman, Attorney General of New York
 
Kathy Chang Park Assistant Corporation Counsel(212) 356-0855
New York City Law Department
100 Church St.
New York, NY  10007
kpark@law.nyc.gov
Party name: Cyrus Vance, District Attorney of New York County and Ken P. Thompson,District Attorney of Kings county
 
Ronald E. Sternberg N.Y.C. Law Department,(212) 356-0840
100 Church Street, Rm. 6-186
New York, NY  10007
rsternbe@law.nyc.gov
Party name: Cyrus Vance, District Attorney of New York County and Ken P. Thompson, District Attorney of Kings County
 
Steven Chiajon Wu 120 Broadway, 25th Floor 212-416-6312
New York, NY  10271
steven.wu@ag.ny.gov
Party name: Eric T. Schneiderman, Attorney General of New York, et al.
Other:
Gregory A. Beck 1250 Connecticut Ave.(202) 684-6339
Suite 200
Washington, DC  20036
Greg@beck.legal
Party name: United States Public Interest Research Group Education Fund, Inc.
 
Thomas Bennigson Public Good Law Center(510) 336-1899
3130 Shattuck Ave.
Berkeley, CA  94705
tbennigson@publicgoodlaw.org
Party name: Action on Smoking and Health, et al.
 
Clay Calvert Marion B. Brechner(352)-273-1096
First Amendment Project
2060 Weimer Hall
Gainesville, FL  32611
ccalvert@jou.ufl.edu
Party name: Marion B. Brechner First Amendment Project
 
Joseph Carl Cecere Cecere PC(469) 600-9455
6035 McComass Blvd.
Dallas, TX  75206
ccecere@cecerepc.com
Party name: Professor Adam J. Levitin
 
Eric F. Citron Goldstein & Russell, P.C.(202) 362-0636
7475 Wisconsin Ave., Suite 850
Bethesda, MD  20814
ecitron@goldsteinrussell.com
Party name: Retail Litigation Center, et al.
 
Paul D. Clement Kirkland & Ellis LLP(202) 879-5000
655 Fifteenth Street, N.W.
Washington, DC  20005
paul.clement@kirkland.com
Party name: Albertsons LLC, et al.
 
Jonathan F. Cohn Sidley Austin LLP(202) 736-8000
1501 K Street, N.W.
Washington, DC  20005
jfcohn@sidley.com
Party name: The Credit Union National Association
 
Eric J. Feigin Assistant to the Solicitor General(202)-305-2452
Department of Justice
950 Pennsylvania Ave. NW
Washington, DC  20530
eric.feigin@usdoj.gov
Party name: United States
 
Brianne Jenna Gorod Constitutional Accountability Center(202) 296-6889
1200 18th Street, NW
Suite 501
Washington, DC  20036
brianne@theusconstitution.org
Party name: First Amendment Scholars
 
Denise Harle Office of the Attorney General0850-414-3300
The Capitol, PL-01
Tallahassee, FL  32399
denise.harle@myfloridalegal.com
Party name: Florida, et al.
 
Adam Wolff Hofmann Hanson Bridgett(415) 777-3200
425 Market Street, 26th Floor
San Francisco, CA  94105
ahofmann@hansonbridgett.com
Party name: Scholars of Behavioral Economics
 
James R. Leickly CardX, LLC(312) 444-0425
401 N. Michigan Ave.
Chicago, IL  60611
james@cardx.com
Party name: CardX, LLC
 
Stacey M. Leyton Altshuler Berzon LLP(415)-421-7151
177 Post Street, Suite 300
San Francisco, CA  94108
sleyton@altber.com
Party name: Labor, Environmental, and Civil Rights Organizations
 
Robert M. Loeb Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP(202) 339-8400
1152 15th Street, N.W.
Washington, DC  20005-1706
rloeb@orrick.com
Party name: International Center for Law & Economics and Scholars of Law and Economics
 
Henry Charles Meier New York Credit Union Association(518) 437-8144
1021 Watervliet Shaker Rd.
Albany, NY  12205
Henry.meier@nycua.org
Party name: New York Credit Union Association
 
Scott L. Nelson Public Citizen Litigation Group(202) 588-1000
1600 20th Street, N.W.
Washington, DC  20009
snelson@citizen.org
Party name: Public Citizen, Inc., et al.
 
Jesse Michael Panuccio Foley & Lardner, LLP(202) 672-5300
3000 K Street, N.W.
Washington, DC  20007
jpanuccio@foley.com
Party name: The James Madison Institute, et al.
 
Sharon K. Robertson Cohen Milsterin Sellers & Toll PLLC212 838 7797
88 Pine Street, 14th Floor
New York, NY  10005
srobertson@cohenmilstein.com
Party name: Consumer Action, et al.
 
Charles A. Rothfeld Mayer Brown LLP(202) 263-3000
1999 K Street, N.W.
Washington, DC  20006
crothfeld@mayerbrown.com
Party name: National Governors Association, et al.
 
David A. Schulz Abrams Institute for Freedom of Expression(203) 436-5824
Yale Law School, 127 Wall Street
New Haven, CA  06511
david.schulz@yale.edu
Party name: Constitutional, Administrative, Contracts and Health Law Scholars
 
Ilya Shapiro Cato Institute(202) 842-0200
1000 Massachusetts Ave., NW
Washington, DC  20001
ishapiro@cato.org
Party name: Cato Institute
 
Paul M. Sherman Institute for Justice(703)-682-9320
901 North Glebe Road, Suite 900
Arlington, VA  22203
psherman@ij.org
Party name: Institute for Justice
 
Mahesha P. Subbaraman Subbaraman PLLC(612) 315-9210
222 S. 9th Street
Suite 1600
Minneapolis, MN  55402
mps@subblaw.com
Party name: First Amendment Scholars and the First Amendment Lawyers Association
 
Jeffrey B. Wall Acting Solicitor General(202) 514-2217
United States Department of Justice
950 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.
Washington, DC  20530-0001
SupremeCtBriefs@USDOJ.gov
Party name: United States, in support of neither party
 
K. Craig Wildfang ROBINS KAPLAN LLP(612) 349-8500
800 LaSalle Avenue, Suite 2800
Minneapolis, MN  55402
KCWildfang@RobinsKaplan.com
Party name: Alan S. Frankel
March 27, 2017 | Version 2014.2