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QUESTIONS PRESENTED 

 

 

1. Do the Ex Post Facto Clause and Eighth Amendment permit a state to 

retroactively impose registration obligations on a person who was adjudicated of a 

sex offense when he was a child? 

 

2. Does the “intent-effects” test in Smith v. Doe, 538 U.S. 84 (2003), apply to a 

person who was adjudicated of a sex offense when he was a child? 
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PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI 

 N.R. respectfully petitions this Court for a writ of certiorari to review the 

judgment of the Kansas Supreme Court in this case. 

OPINIONS BELOW 

The split opinion of the Kansas Supreme Court is published at 495 P.3d 16. 

(Slip opinion included as Appendix A at Pet. App. 1a.) The opinion of the Kansas 

Court of Appeals is published at 451 P.3d 877. (Slip opinion included as Appendix B 

at Pet. App. 40a.) The oral judgment of the state district court is unreported. R. 6: 5. 

JURISDICTION 

The Kansas Supreme Court issued its opinion on September 17, 2021. Pet. 

App. 1a. This Court has jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a). 

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY 

PROVISIONS INVOLVED 

 

U.S. Const. art. I, § 9, cl. 3: 

“No Bill of Attainder or ex post facto Law shall be passed.” 

U.S. Const. amend. VIII: 

 “Excessive bail shall not be required, nor excessive fines imposed, nor cruel 

and unusual punishments inflicted.” 

Kan. Stat. Ann. § 22-4906(h) (2011), in part: 

“… an offender 14 years of age or more who is adjudicated as a juvenile 

offender for an act which if committed by an adult would constitute a sexually 

violent crime … and such crime is an off-grid felony or a felony ranked in severity 
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level 1 of the nondrug grid … shall be required to register for such offender’s 

lifetime.” 

Kan. Stat. Ann. § 22-4908 (2011), in part: 

“No person required to register as an offender pursuant to the Kansas 

offender registration act shall be granted an order relieving the offender of further 

registration under this act.” 

The entirety of the Kansas offender registration act, found within the Kansas 

code of criminal procedure at Kan. Stat. Ann. § 22-4901 et seq., is included at Pet. 

App. 57a.  

STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

N.R. was 14 years old when a court adjudicated him as a juvenile offender 

and placed him on probation. Pet. App. 3a. At that time, the judge told him he had 

to register for five years. Pet. App. 3a. The month before those five years were up, 

the Kansas Legislature made sweeping changes to the Kansas Offender 

Registration Act (KORA). N.R. was caught up in them and, overnight, his 

registration obligations extended to the day he dies: no discretion, no individualized 

assessment, and no early removal. Pet. App. 3a; Kan. Stat. Ann. § 22-4902 et seq. 

N.R. is not alone—there are other people like him in Kansas and across the 

nation.1 Despite growing amounts of research, data, lived experience, and other 

                                                           
1 To some degree, 41 states require registration for sex offenses committed by children. OFFICE OF 

SEX OFFENDER SENTENCING, MONITORING, APPREHENDING, REGISTERING, AND TRACKING, SEX 

OFFENDER REGISTRATION AND NOTIFICATION ACT (SORNA) STATE AND TERRITORY IMPLEMENTATION 

PROGRESS CHECK (September 30, 2020). 
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information, N.R.—and many others who are living with requirements retroactively 

applied to them for an adjudication they received as a child—hears this from the 

Kansas Supreme Court and other lower courts: what is happening to you and your 

family is acceptable because of Smith v. Doe, 538 U.S. 84 (2003). 

But Smith v. Doe did not involve someone adjudicated of a sex offense when 

he was a child. In fact, the state where it came from, Alaska, did not, and to this day 

does not, require registration for children adjudicated of sex offenses. Alaska Stat. 

Ann. § 12.63.100(3) (2003); Alaska Stat. Ann. § 12.63.100(3) (West 2019). And this 

Court has acknowledged since Smith v. Doe that a person adjudicated as a juvenile 

offender and later subjected to registration requirements may have grounds for an 

ex post facto challenge. U.S. v. Juvenile Male, 564 U.S. 932, 937-38 (2011) (appeal 

dismissed for mootness). 

Furthermore, Smith v. Doe is 18 years old. It was decided before Congress 

enacted the Sex Offender Registration and Notification Act (SORNA) in 2006, a 

federal law plus a series of legally binding guidance issued by the Executive 

Branch, which consists of requirements for states to implement in their own 

registries. 34 U.S.C. § 20901, et seq. Since 2006, registration requirements in 

different jurisdictions, including Kansas, have expanded exponentially, and the 

laws have become far more punitive. 

In contrast, lower courts taking the default position that Smith v. Doe 

controls over their state’s registry conditions is waning. Since 2009, at least eleven 

state courts of last resort and the Sixth Circuit have held that offender registration 
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statutes cannot be applied retroactively without violating prohibitions against ex 

post facto laws or cruel and unusual punishment. See Reasons for Granting the 

Petition, infra, at 12-13; see also Pet. App. 37a (“Across the nation, courts are 

creeping out of the shadow of Smith and declaring registration requirements 

punitive”). At least five state courts of last resort have reached this conclusion 

specifically regarding people adjudicated as juveniles. See Reasons for Granting the 

Petition, infra, at 12-13. 

Because of the increasingly punitive nature of offender registration statutes, 

this Court should weigh in on whether KORA and similar schemes constitute 

punishment for purposes of the Ex Post Facto Clause and Eighth Amendment, 

when applied to people registering because of juvenile adjudications. Further, this 

Court’s review is the only way that courts will have guidance in conducting this 

analysis in the context of people adjudicated as children. Although Smith v. Doe 

provided a framework, the statutory scheme in Alaska in 2003 was too different 

from the current landscape of offender registration requirements—and children are 

too different from adults—for its conclusion to be the guidance that courts need 

when considering different issues in 2021. 

A. The Kansas Offender Registration Act 

 1. The Kansas Legislature created the first offender registry act in 1993. 

The Habitual Sex Offender Registration Act required a person twice convicted of a 

sexually violent crime to register with the sheriff in the county where he/she lived 

for ten years. The information was open to law enforcement agencies only. 1993 
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Kan. Sess. Laws, ch. 253. On April 14, 1994, the Legislature expanded the Act to 

include people with first-time convictions and renamed it the Kansas Sex Offender 

Registration Act. It allowed public access to registrants’ information; interested 

parties had to go to the sheriff’s office to access the information. 1994 Kan. Sess. 

Laws, ch. 107. 

In 1997, the Legislature added people convicted of murder and manslaughter, 

along with people with convictions for certain crimes with victims under age 18. The 

Act was renamed and has since remained the Kansas Offender Registration Act. 

1997 Kan. Sess. Laws, ch. 181. Since 1997, additional sex offenses have been added 

to the definition of offender, and children adjudicated of certain sex offenses were 

added in 2002. 2002 Kan. Sess. Laws, ch. 55. In 2006, the Legislature gave courts 

some discretion about whether to require registration for children adjudicated of 

some sex offenses. 2006 Kan. Sess. Laws, ch. 214. 

The Legislature broadened KORA further: in 2006, to include people 

convicted of any person felony [where a finding was made that] a deadly weapon 

was used,” and in 2007, to include people convicted of manufacturing, possession of 

precursors, and drug distribution or possession with intent to distribute. 2006 Kan. 

Sess. Laws, ch. 214; 2007 Kan. Sess. Laws, ch. 183.  

2. The registration periods for people convicted of sex offenses range from 

15 years to lifetime. From 2002 to June 2011, the registration period, if required at 

all, for all people adjudicated of sex offenses committed when they were children 

was five years or until they reached age 18, whichever was longer. Kan. Stat. Ann. § 
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22-4906 (2010). After July 1, 2011, the period for people adjudicated of certain levels 

of sex offenses was increased to lifetime. Kan. Stat. Ann. § 22-4906. 

Although the original act permitted registrants to petition for early removal, 

since 1999 (for lifetime registrants) and 2001 (for anyone), early removal has been 

expressly prohibited by statute. Kan. Stat. Ann. § 22-4908; 1999 Kan. Sess. Laws, 

ch. 164; 2001 Kan. Sess. Laws, ch. 208. In 2011, the Legislature eliminated a safety 

valve created in 1999 for people whose registration period was over by July 1, 1999. 

2011 Kan. Sess. Laws, ch. 95. Failing to comply with KORA is a felony. Kan. Stat. 

Ann. § 22-4903; see also Reasons for Granting the Petition, infra, at 21-22.  

3. As this Court knows, in 2006, Congress enacted the Sex Offender 

Registration and Notification Act (SORNA), which was Title I of the Adam Walsh 

Child Protection and Safety Act. Pub. L. No. 109-248 (originally codified at 42 

U.S.C. §16901, et seq.; now at 34 U.S.C. § 20901, et seq.). In 2011, the Kansas 

Legislature considered a bill with the stated purpose of bringing Kansas into 

“substantial compliance” with SORNA in order to avoid the loss of Byrne Grant 

money. See Hearing on H.B. 2322 Before the H. Comm. on Corr. and Juv. Justice, 

2011 Leg. (testimony in support of the bill by Sgt. Al Deathe, Douglas County 

Sheriff; David Hutchings and Nicole Dekat, Kansas Bureau of Investigation). 

The KORA overhaul became law, and eventually a number of registrants 

challenged the application of the 2011 amendments to their situations, arguing that 

retroactive application of the sweeping changes to the registrants violated the Ex 

Post Facto Clause. Pet. App. 8a-9a. After applying the factors set out in Kennedy v. 
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Mendoza-Martinez, 372 U.S. 144 (1963), to the 2011 KORA amendments, a majority 

(4-3) of one composition of the Kansas Supreme Court agreed that the 2011 version 

constituted punishment for the purposes of the Ex Post Facto Clause. State v. 

Buser, 304 Kan. 181, 371 P.3d 886 (2016); State v. Redmond, 304 Kan. 283, 371 P.3d 

900 (2016); Doe v. Thompson, 304 Kan. 291, 373 P.3d 750 (2016); Pet. App. 82a. 

(KORA, as amended in 2011, was punitive in effect and could not be applied 

retroactively to any registrant who committed the qualifying crime prior to July 1, 

2011).  

But on that same day, a majority (4-3) of a one-justice-different composition 

of the Court overruled those three cases and held that lifetime sex offender 

registration was not punishment and, therefore, did not violate the Eighth 

Amendment prohibition against cruel and unusual punishment. State v. Petersen-

Beard, 304 Kan. 192, 377 P.3d 1127 (2016), cert. den. October 3, 2016; Pet. App. 

150a. The majority cut and pasted the dissent from Doe v. Thompson and adopted it 

as its reasoning and basis for decision, which was “a faithful application of federal 

precedents requires us to find that the provisions of KORA at issue here are not 

punitive for purposes of applying our federal Constitution.” Pet. App. 156a.  

The following year, when faced with a strictly Ex Post Facto claim, the Court 

did no new analysis or discuss the differences in situation, and simply pointed to 

Petersen-Beard. State v. Reed, 306 Kan. 899, 900, 904, 399 P.3d 865 (2017) 

(Petersen-Beard did not involve retroactivity, while Reed did; six months before his 
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time was set to expire, the 2011 amendments made Reed go from a 10-year 

registration period to lifetime). 

None of these Kansas Supreme Court cases involved a registrant whose 

obligation resulted from a juvenile adjudication.  

B. Proceedings in the district courts 

1. In 2006, the State charged N.R. with rape in a juvenile offender 

complaint; N.R. was 14 at the time of the alleged offense. In August 2006, N.R. pled 

guilty as charged and was adjudicated a juvenile offender. The district court placed 

N.R. on probation for 24 months, with an underlying 24-month sentence in a 

juvenile correctional facility. Three months later, the magistrate judge ordered N.R. 

to register “locally only, as a sex offender,” but not publicly statewide or nationally. 

Pet. App. 3a. The order did not say how long N.R. had to register, but the version of 

KORA in effect at the time required N.R. to register for five years. Kan. Stat. Ann. § 

22-4902(b) and (c)(1); Kan. Stat. Ann. § 22-4906(h)(1) (2006); Pet. App. 3a.  

On July 1, 2011, the month before the five-year period was set to expire, H. 

Sub. for S.B. 37 took effect. Pet. App. 3a; 2011 Kan. Sess. Laws, ch. 95 (see Pet. App. 

57a for law in statutory form). Suddenly the expiration of N.R.’s registration period 

went from the following month to the day he dies. Kan. Stat. Ann. § 22-4906(h) 

(2011).  

2. On June 2, 2017, (1) the State charged N.R. with four counts of KORA 

noncompliance, (2) the district court issued an arrest warrant, and (3) N.R. was 

arrested while at the offender registration office for a required quarterly 
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registration. R. 1: 11-14, 16, 20-21; R. 2: 2. Because N.R. had a prior conviction from 

2012 for KORA noncompliance, his charges were severity level 5 person felonies 

(which is akin to involuntary manslaughter, attempted aggravated robbery, and 

reckless aggravated battery resulting in great bodily harm). Pet. App. 3a; see Kan. 

Stat. Ann. §§ 21-5405(b)(1)(A), 21-5420(c)(2), 21-5301(c)(1), 21-5413(g)(2)(C), 

respectively. 

N.R. filed a motion to dismiss the charges, arguing that his lifetime 

registration requirements violated the Ex Post Facto Clause of the United States 

Constitution as well as state and federal constitutional protections against cruel 

and unusual punishment. Pet. App. 4a. The State opposed the motion, relying on 

Petersen-Beard. Pet. App. 4a. 

At the motion hearing, N.R.’s counsel began her comments with “at a 

common sense level to say that a 14-year-old is now forced to register for the rest of 

his life as a sex offender isn’t a punishment I think is just ridiculous.” R. 6: 2. 

Counsel submitted two affidavits to the court—one from N.R. and one from his 

fiancée—detailing the “numerous ways in which [N.R.’s] registration requirement 

has served as a punishment for him, for his fiancée, for their child, [and] for their 

family,” specifically instances (1) “where he was unable to find housing, 

employment, and substance abuse treatment because of his status as an offender,” 

and (2) “public dissemination of his information has subjected him to 

embarrassment and even violence from members of the community.” R. 6: 2; Pet. 

App. 4a. 
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In ruling on N.R.’s motion to dismiss, the district court said it was “duty 

bound” to follow the Kansas Legislature and Kansas Supreme Court, but noted that 

“I thought it was more than somewhat interesting on the day the opinions, I think, 

that are controlling came out that the Supreme Court . . . reversed themselves in 

the same day by adding an additional justice.” R. 6: 5. At a bench trial on stipulated 

facts, the district court found N.R. guilty of two counts of KORA noncompliance. 

Pet. App. 43a. The district court sentenced N.R. to 49 months in prison, but placed 

him on probation for 36 months. Pet. App. 45a.  

C. Proceedings in the Kansas appellate courts 

1. N.R. appealed his conviction to the Kansas Court of Appeals, 

specifically challenging the district court’s denial of his motion to dismiss on the 

same grounds as in district court. Pet. App. 45a-46a. The core of N.R.’s argument 

was “juveniles are different than adults,” and he discussed cases from this Court 

dealing with “the diminished culpability of juveniles.” Pet. App. 46a-47a, 50a-51a. 

The Court of Appeals ultimately concluded that “N.R. has shown no reason for us to 

believe that the outcome of Petersen-Beard or other controlling precedent would 

have been any different had it involved a juvenile instead of an adult,” and affirmed 

his convictions. Pet. App. 54a. 

2. N.R. filed a petition for review in the Kansas Supreme Court, which 

was granted. Pet. App. 2a. Again, N.R. argued constitutional grounds, as well as 

because juveniles are different from adults, the Court “must apply an analysis 
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differen than that in Smith or Petersen-Beard for purposes of evaluating 

excessiveness.” Pet. App. 13a-14a. 

The N.R. majority acknowledged that neither Smith v. Doe nor Petersen-

Beard “mention the age of the offender.” Pet. App. 9a. The Court admitted the 

“affidavits establish that N.R. has suffered personal harm, violence, mental health 

issues, and embarrassment because of public dissemination of his registration 

information.” Pet. App. 11a. The Court discussed its own caselaw where it 

“recognized that juveniles generally have a ‘lower risk of recidivism’ and that 

‘[p]lacing lifetime restraints on a juvenile offender's liberties requires a 

determination that the juvenile will forever be a danger to society’ and undermines 

juvenile rehabilitation,” and struck down mandatory lifetime postrelease 

supervision for children. Pet. App. 15a. 

But then the Court characterized N.R.’s use of “the ‘children are different’ 

analysis” as a “circular” argument and a “red herring” because postrelease 

supervision and life without parole are “punishment”, “punishments”, or “sentences” 

(emphasis in original), “[b]ut under the current state of the law in Kansas, the 

KORA registration requirements are not punitive. See Petersen-Beard [citation 

omitted]. Because they are not punitive, the KORA registration requirements are 

not subject to the punishment analysis” set out in the Court’s opinions. Pet. App. 

16a. The Court held that “KORA’s mandatory lifetime registration requirements as 

applied to N.R. are not punishment and, as a result, do not violate the federal Ex 
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Post Facto Clause or the prohibition against cruel and unusual punishment under 

the Eighth Amendment of the United States Constitution[.]” Pet. App. 20a-21a. 

The dissent began like this:  

 

For more than 15 years I have been a proud member of a court that has 

historically taken an unyielding stand against the degradation of rights 

guaranteed by our Constitution. . . . 

 

Today, I feel none of that pride. Today, the court eschews the United States 

Constitution and the citizens it stands to protect for reasons I cannot 

comprehend. 

 

Pet. App. 23a-24a. The dissent included research, data, real-world analysis, and a 

list of cases from other states where N.R.’s situation was decided differently. Pet. 

App. 25a-39a. The dissent concluded: 

N.R. is—very clearly—being punished by the Legislature’s “civil scheme.” 

The majority’s refusal to acknowledge this is inexplicable. To put it plainly, in 

the words of my recently retired colleague, the majority’s holding is “wrong-

headed and utterly ridiculous. ... [I]n the real world where citizens reside, 

registration is unequivocally punishment.” State v. Perez-Medina, 310 Kan. 

525, 540-41, 448 P.3d 446 (2019) (Johnson, J., dissenting). Consequently, I 

would hold that N.R.’s lifetime registration requirement violates the Ex Post 

Facto Clause because it was enacted and imposed after N.R. committed the 

actions that led to his adjudication. 

 

Pet. App. 39a. 

 

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION 

 

A. Lower courts are divided over whether retroactive application of 

modern-day registration requirements violates the Ex Post Facto 

Clause or the Eighth Amendment. 

 

As to registrants generally, N.R. acknowledges that only one federal court of 

appeal has determined that SORNA’s registration requirements cannot be 

constitutionally applied to people whose offense pre-dated the requirements, while 
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at least nine have rejected ex post facto or cruel and unusual punishment claims. 

Does #1-5 v. Snyder, 834 F.3d 696 (6th Cir. 2016) (Michigan’s registry imposes 

punishment); Pet. App. 48a-49a, 130a-131a (for cases rejecting the issue). He also 

acknowledges that at least two federal courts of appeal have found that SORNA is 

not punishment as applied to someone adjudicated as a child. See United States v. 

Under Seal, 709 F.3d 257, 265 (4th Cir. 2013); U.S. v. Juvenile Male, 670 F.3d 999 

(9th Cir. 2012). 

But since the passage of SORNA in 2006, at least eleven state courts of last 

resort have held generally that offender registration requirements cannot be 

applied retroactively without violating constitutional prohibitions. See Doe v. State, 

189 P.3d 999, 1019 (Alaska 2008); People In Int. of T.B., 489 P.3d 752 (Colo. 2021); 

Wallace v. State, 905 N.E.2d 371, 384 (Ind. 2009); In Int. of T.H., 913 N.W.2d 578 

(Iowa 2018); State v. Letalien, 985 A.2d 4, 26 (Me. 2009); Doe v. Dep’t of Pub. Safety 

& Corr. Servs., 62 A.3d 123, 137 (Md. 2013); People v. Betts, __ N.W. 2d __, 2021 WL 

3161828 (Mich. 2021); Doe v. State, 111 A.3d 1077 (N.H. 2015); State in Int. of C.K., 

182 A.3d 917 (N.J. 2018); State v. Williams, 952 N.E.2d 1108, 1113 (Ohio 2011); In 

re C.P., 967 N.E.2d 729 (Ohio 2012); Starkey v. Oklahoma Dep’t of Corr., 305 P.3d 

1004, 1030 (Okla. 2013); In re J.B., 107 A.3d 1 (Pa. 2014). In five of these cases— 

Colorado (T.B.), Iowa (T.H.), New Jersey (C.K.), Ohio (C.P.), and Pennsylvania 

(J.B.)—the person in the case had been adjudicated as a child for the offense giving 

rise to their registration obligation. 
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The split is widening and will continue to do so as more courts “look at the 

research and the arguments, [and see the] truth before us: lifetime registration for a 

14-year-old offender is, unmistakably, punishment.” Pet. App. 38a. 

B. Only this Court can provide guidance to lower courts on what test to 

use to evaluate issues involving retroactive application of 

registration requirements for people adjudicated as juveniles.  

 

Smith v. Doe and Petersen-Beard are “the current state of the law” in this 

country and state, respectively. Pet. App. 21a. As the N.R. majority noted, this 

presents N.R. and others like him with “an uphill battle.” Pet. App. 13a. Time after 

time, lower courts do not dig into the facts, arguments, data, and research put 

before them, and instead fall back on Smith v. Doe, even when the person before 

them was adjudicated as a child. See, e.g., Pet. App. 27a, 30a, 45a-46a, 48a; U.S. v. 

Elkins, 683 F.3d 1039, 1041, 1044-45 (9th Cir. 2012) (Ninth Circuit, relying on Smith 

v. Doe and other Ninth Circuit cases that did the same, reversed district court and 

held that requiring registration for a pre-SORNA adjudication when the person was 

14 did not violate the Ex Post Facto Clause). 

 This case is a perfect example of that. N.R. filed a detailed motion and 

presented affidavits describing  

how difficult it was for them to find and secure housing due to N.R.’s status 

as a sex offender; how hard it was for N.R. to find and maintain employment; 

how the $20 reporting fee imposed additional financial strain on the family 

because they already were a low-income household; how N.R. continued to 

struggle with his sobriety because treatment facilities and sober living houses 

across Kansas would turn him away due to his status, which led to 

homelessness and seeking shelter in drug houses; how neighbors and 

community members ostracized N.R. and his family when those individuals 

learned of his status, including two occasions where N.R. was threatened at 

gunpoint; how N.R. and his fiancée feared for their child’s safety; how N.R. 
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was concerned about not being able to participate in his child’s school 

activities due to his status; how N.R. suffered from depression as a result of 

the lifetime registration requirements; and how N.R. attempted suicide as a 

result of his depression. 
 

Pet. App. 4a; see also Pet. App. 27a (“[c]ountless jurists, scholars, and social 

scientists have confirmed how common these burdens are to those required to 

register”). But the district court did not “make any factual findings regarding the 

affidavits or address their substance” because “it was bound to follow the 

Legislature’s directives and Kansas Supreme Court precedent.” Pet. App. 10a. Then 

the N.R. majority blindly relied on Petersen-Beard, which blindly relied on Smith v. 

Doe. See, e.g., Pet. App. 8a-9a, 16a, 132a. 

But Smith v. Doe, Petersen-Beard, and Reed did not involve a person 

adjudicated as a juvenile. Pet. App. 9a. And this Court has not considered on the 

merits whether the test set out in Smith v. Doe applies to a person adjudicated as a 

juvenile. This Court acknowledged that a person adjudicated as a juvenile offender 

and later subjected to registration requirements may have grounds for an ex post 

facto challenge. U.S. v. Juvenile Male, 564 U.S. 932, 937-38 (2011) (appeal 

dismissed for mootness). Without guidance, what happened to N.R.—and to people 

litigating their issues in courts across the country—will continue, “leav[ing] one at a 

loss as to what, if any, condition KORA could create that the majority would 

consider onerous.” Pet. App. 30a-31a.  

N.R.’s case also illustrates what happens when a person adjudicated as a 

juvenile attempts to argue considerations, such as juveniles are different from 

adults, that may not fit neatly into one of the Mendoza-Martinez factors used in 
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Smith v. Doe. The N.R. majority acknowledged this Court’s decisions, as well as its 

own, where heart of the outcome was that children are different, but instead of 

digging into the research and arguments N.R. made, the majority simply presumed 

it wasn’t punishment, as illustrated by putting words like “sentence” and 

“punishment” in italics. But emphasizing words does not analysis make. Pet. App. 

15a-16a, 18a. The majority accused N.R. of “circular” reasoning and introducing a 

“red herring”, but it is the Court that is circular. Pet. App. 16a. In the words of the 

dissent, “N.R.’s argument brings the punitive effect of his lifetime registration 

requirement sharply into focus. If he is less culpable than his adult counterpart, 

and he is less likely to endanger the public, treating him as if he is just as menacing 

is indefensible.” Pet. App. 34a. 

C. The decision below is wrong. 

 

 1. The majority ignores science and research related to children. N.R.’s 

arguments and information centered around the fact that children are different 

from adults. Pet. App. 13a-17a, 34a. “Social scientists and scholars have confirmed 

that juvenile offenders are distinct from adult offenders.” Pet. App. 34a; see also 

Association for the Treatment of Sexual Abusers, Registration and Community 

Notification of Children and Adolescents Adjudicated of a Sexual Crime: 

Recommendations for Evidence-Based Reform (2020) (review of “the emergence and 

development of sexual offender registration and community notification (SORN) 

laws, identify how these laws have been applied to children and adolescents 

adjudicated for a sexual crime, and consider the extent to which these laws” are 
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based on research and science, have affected recidivism, and meet the intended 

goals). 

 By sticking with Petersen-Beard and, therefore, Smith v. Doe, the N.R. 

majority ignores that Smith v. Doe was decided in part based on misinformation 

about adults who have been convicted of sex offenses. Pet. App. 32a-33a, 186a-188a. 

N.R. joins the majority in Doe v. Thompson/dissent in Petersen-Beard in “cling[ing] 

to the belief that the persons who have been privileged to serve on our nation’s 

highest Court will yield to the facts and give a closer look at whether our statutory 

scheme is rationally connected to the nonpunitive purpose of public safety and 

whether its terms and conditions are excessive in relation to that public safety 

purpose.” Pet. App. 188a. 

 2. The majority “shrugs its shoulders” at what N.R. is required to do for 

the rest of his life, and ignores reality. Pet. App. 27a. Instantly, with no assessment 

or opportunity for early removal, N.R. went from being almost done with an already 

pretty onerous registration requirement to the expanded obligations shown below 

(the italicized language in the chart below summarizes new requirements created by 

H. Sub. for S.B. 37, which continue to this day), which will continue for the rest of 

N.R.’s life:  

Who is required 

to register as an 

offender 

Brief summary of what it 

requires registrant to do 

Length of registration, 

noncompliance penalty, 

relief from registration, 

and information accessible  

The same 

categories as 

prior law, only 

reorganized, and 

*within 3 business days, must 

register with sheriff in county 

of residence, employment, or 

Increases registration periods 

from 10 years or life to 15, 25, 

or lifetime, depending on 

offense (exs.: violent/drug 
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adds lifetime 

registration for 

kidnapping and 

aggravated 

kidnapping 

regardless of 

victim’s age 

 

Removes personal 

use exception from 

manufacturing 

registration 

requirement, and 

adds as 

qualifying 

convictions any 

attempts, 

conspiracies, or 

solicitations to 

commit the 

enumerated drug 

offenses 

 

Excludes people 

adjudicated as a 

juvenile offender 

for an act that 

would, if 

committed by an 

adult, be a 

sexually violent 

crime, if the court 

finds that the act 

involved non-

forcible sexual 

conduct, the 

victim was at 

least 14, and the 

offender was not 

more than four 

years older than 

the victim 

 

school, or intended residence, 

employment, or school 

and report changes within 3 

business days (used to be 10 

days on both) to the old and 

new (if applicable) agencies as 

well as written notice to KBI 

 

*people who cannot physically 

register in person are subject to 

verification requirements 

determined by registering 

agency 

 

*at registering law enforcement 

agency’s discretion, violent and 

drug offenders can report three 

times in person and one time 

by certified letter 

 

*transient offenders can be 

made to register every 30 days 

or more often, at the discretion 

of the registering agency 

 

Information required to be 

reported at quarterly visits:  

 

*name and all aliases 

 

*date and place of birth, and 

alias dates/places 

 

*title and statute number of 

offense(s) committed, 

county/state/country and date 

of conviction(s), and case nos. 

 

*current residential address, 

and any anticipated future 

residence and any temporary 

lodging information 

[including] address, phone 

number, dates of travel if 

offenders went from 10 to 15; 

some sex offenders went from 

10 to 25 while others went 

from 10 to life; some juveniles 

went from 5 to life) 

 

Upon a conviction for second 

registerable offense, offender 

has to register for life (exs.: 

two drug convictions, or one 

drug and one violent, or one 

drug and one sex) 

 

Changes penalty for violating 

to a severity level 6 for a first 

offense, 5 for a second, and 3 

for a third or subsequent or 

for one longer than 180 days) 

(it had been a severity level 5) 

 

A new offense every 30 days 

of noncompliance or every 180 

days for an aggravated one 

Expands venue for prosecution 

to counties not only where 

offender resides, but also 

where they are required to be 

registered, where they are 

located during 

noncompliance, or where 

conviction requiring 

registration occurred 

 

Emphasizes that a KORA 

violation is the “failure by an 

offender to comply with any 

and all provisions of such act” 

 

Amends adult and juvenile 

expungement statutes to forbid 

expungement of any conviction 

or any part of the offender’s 

criminal record while the 
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Expands 

definitions of 

many terms (ex. 

“reside” and 

“employment”) 

 

staying 7 or more days, or if 

transient, places stayed and 

frequented since last reporting 

 

*all phone numbers at which 

the offender maybe contacted 

 

*any and all schools and 

satellite schools attended or 

expected to attend and their 

locations and phone numbers 

*social security number and 

any alias numbers 

 

*name and number of 

probation or parole officer 

 

*identifiers such as race, 

ethnicity, sex, age, hair and 

eye color, height and weight, 

scars, blood type 

 

*all professional licenses, 

designations, and certifications 

*occupation and name of 

employer, as well as address 

and telephone number, and 

name of any anticipated 

employer 

 

*all current driver’s license or 

ID card including a photocopy 

of all such DLs or IDs and 

their numbers, states of 

issuance and expiration dates 

 

*vehicle information, including 

license plate number, any 

other identifier and description 

of any vehicle owned or 

operated by offender or 

regularly drives either for work 

or personal use, and 

offender is required to register 

as provided in KORA  

 

Expands no relief from 

registration provision to 

include people with out-of-

state convictions or 

adjudications 

 

Repeals 22-4912 (which had 

provided that anyone required 

to be registered prior to 7/1/99 

who would not have been 

required to register on and 

after 7/1/99 shall be entitled 

to be relieved of the 

requirement by applying to 

the sentencing court 

 

On and after June 1, 2006, 

prohibits cities and counties 

from adopting or enforcing 

residence restrictions for 

offenders 

 

Same public access as 2005  

 

If someone is a confidential 

informant or been provided a 

new identity, they must 

register but it will not be open 

to public inspection 
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information RE: the location of 

any of those vehicles 

 

*license plate number, 

registration number or other 

description of any aircraft or 

watercraft owned or operated 

by offender and where stored 

 

*any and all email addresses 

and any and all online 

identities and any information 

RE: online social networks 

 

*sex and date of birth or 

purported age of victim 

 

*photograph; fingerprints and 

palm prints; DNA 

 

*all travel and immigration 

documents; notify registering 

agency and KBI within 21 days 

of travel outside the U.S. 

 

Compare Kan. Stat. Ann. §§ 22-4904, 22-4906(h)(1), with 2011 Kan. Sess. Laws, ch. 

95; Pet. App. 57a. “The majority’s quick dismissal of N.R.’s arguments—without any 

actual analysis of what registration means for him against the internet of today and 

the instantaneous access to information via social media—is callously dismissive 

and grossly blind to realities of the present day.” Pet. App. 31a. 

The majority fails to appreciate the punitive effect of current KORA 

requirements, particularly as it relates to people who were adjudicated as 

children—and especially as it relates to N.R: “If N.R. fails to fulfill the 

requirements, he can be prosecuted and sentenced to years of prison time, even 

though he was never confined in a juvenile correctional facility when he was 
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adjudicated an offender for the underlying offense.” Pet. App. 26a-27a. Smith v. Doe 

instructs courts to look at the entire statutory scheme to examine it for punitive 

effects. Pet. App. 7a. Courts must look at how it plays out day to day. To pick just 

one thing, consider how violations are handled. As seen in this case, if a registrant 

(in any category) fails to timely comply with any duties under KORA, even 

unintentionally, they can be charged with a felony. Kan. Stat. Ann. § 22-4903. It 

was not always this way, though. From 1993 to mid-1999, failure to register was a 

nonperson misdemeanor. (In Kansas, most crimes are designated person or 

nonperson, which has a number of impacts, particularly in creating a person’s 

criminal history score in a future case. See Kan. Stat. Ann. § 21-6809.) In 1999, the 

Legislature increased the penalty to the lowest-level nonperson felony. It remained 

that way until 2006, when the Legislature doubled the penalty for noncompliance 

and elevated it to a person felony. 2006 Kan. Sess. Laws, ch. 212.  

 As of July 1, 2011, KORA noncompliance is a mid-level felony (akin to arson 

or involuntary manslaughter, for example) for a first or second offense, and a high 

level felony (akin to aggravated robbery, for example) for a third or subsequent 

offense or a violation that lasts over 180 consecutive days. Kan. Stat. Ann. § 22-

4903. In 2013, the Legislature created a new crime relating to KORA 

noncompliance: unless a registrant has received a court-issued waiver of payment in 

the past three years, it is a Class A misdemeanor if a registrant does not pay the 

$20 registration fee that is owed when a registrant goes in for the quarterly 
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registrations. It is a low-level felony if two or more $20 payments have not been 

paid. 2013 Kan. Sess. Laws, ch. 127.  

A special sentencing rule makes all noncompliance violations carry a 

presumptive prison sentence. Kan. Stat. Ann. § 21-6804(m). Failing to comply is a 

strict liability offense; the only other strict liability crime specifically designated by 

Kansas statute is driving under the influence, although the Court recently held that 

rape is a strict liability offense. Kan. Stat. Ann. § 21-5203; State v. Dinkel, 495 P.3d 

402, 403 (Kan. 2021) (“There is no mental culpability requirement for the crime 

of rape of a child under 14 years of age”).  

These are penalties that N.R., and others like him, face for the remainder of 

his life if he fails to comply with every aspect of KORA. 

 3. The majority does not appreciate the distinctions between SORNA and 

KORA. In Petersen-Beard and N.R., the Court cited to federal circuit court decisions 

that upheld SORNA requirements. Pet. App. 48a-49a, 130a-131a. Shortly after 

N.R., the Court rejected an ex post facto challenge in a case involving an adult 

conviction, citing to Millard v. Camper, 971 F.3d 1174 (10th Cir. 2020). See State v. 

Shaffer, No. 119,738, 2021 WL 5406136 (Kan. 2021) (unpublished). 

But Kansas is different from SORNA guidelines and states like Colorado. For 

example, Kansas expressly forbids early release from registration, which is 

particularly onerous for people adjudicated as children. N.R. and hundreds of people 

in Kansas (as well as people in other states) similarly situated must register until 

they die. Compare 34 U.S.C. § 20915(b) (provides for a reduction after 25 years of 
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“clean record” for “sex offender adjudicated delinquent), Colo. Rev. Stat. § 16-22-

103(4), 16-22-113 (petition for removal provisions), with Kan. Stat. Ann. § 22-4908 

(“No person required to register as an offender . . . shall be granted an order 

relieving the offender of further registration…”). 

This was by design. H. Sub. for S.B. 37 (2011), the final home of the sweeping 

changes to KORA, contained provisions not relating to or required by SORNA. See  

Hearing on H.B. 2322 Before the H. Comm. on Corr. and Juv. Justice, 2011 Leg. 

(testimony in support of the bill by Sgt. Al Deathe, Douglas County Sheriff; David 

Hutchings and Nicole Dekat, Kansas Bureau of Investigation). The proponents 

proposed amendments that were not SORNA-related. For example, the proponents 

acknowledged that SORNA “requires a tiered duration of registration of 15 years, 

25 years, and lifetime registration,” but they “prefer[red] to manage the program 

within a two-tiered system,” i.e., 15 years or life. See Hutchings. The proponents did 

not mention—at least not in their written testimony—that requiring people 

adjudicated of sex offenses committed as children to register for life with no chance 

of early removal was their idea; this is not a SORNA requirement. See 34 U.S.C. § 

20915(b); also see Deathe, Hutchings, and Dekat. 

Notably, H. Sub. for S.B. 37 also did away with a registrant being able to 

expunge any part of their criminal record while they were registering for an offense, 

and struck language that had been in place since 1999 that allowed removal of 

people from the registry if their registration requirement was over as of July 1, 

1999. See Dekat; see also H.B. 2322 (2011); H. Sub. for S.B. 37 (2011). 
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To the extent that the Court relies on federal precedent in N.R.’s case, it does 

so without acknowledging the extreme nature of KORA’s provisions. 

D. Now is the time for this Court to consider this important and 

recurring issue, and this case is an ideal vehicle to do so. 

 

N.R.’s case is illustrative of an ongoing, national, constitutionally significant 

problem. In Kansas alone, over 900 people register because of a juvenile 

adjudication for a sex offense. Kansas Judicial Council, Report of the Judicial 

Council Advisory Committee on Sex Offenses and Registration, at 8 (December 11, 

2020). This Court’s review is the only way N.R. and so many others have any chance 

to receive consideration of the issues they present that are driven by research, data, 

and lived experience. 

NR’s case presents an ideal vehicle for this Court to consider the questions of 

national import. N.R. raised these issues below, and the appellate courts considered 

them. 

The Petersen-Beard majority identified the “real question” in 2016 as “[a]re 

there convincing reasons to believe the United States Supreme Court would view 

KORA differently than it viewed the Alaska law in 2003 when it decided Smith?” 

Pet. App. 132a. N.R. has presented reasons why now is the time for this Court to 

answer that question with yes, particularly with regard to people adjudicated as 

children. 

CONCLUSION 

 

The petition for writ of certiorari should be granted. 

 

 



25 

 

  Respectfully submitted, 

   

  /s/ Jennifer C. Roth    

  JENNIFER C. ROTH 

     COUNSEL OF RECORD    

  RANDALL L. HODGKINSON 

      KANSAS APPELLATE DEFENDER OFFICE 

700 S.W. Jackson Street, Suite 900 

Topeka, Kansas 66603 

      (785) 296-5484 

      jroth@sbids.org 

      Counsel for Petitioner 

 

mailto:jroth@sbids.org

