State of California DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE



1300 I STREET, SUITE 125 P.O. BOX 944255 SACRAMENTO, CA 94244-2550

Public: (916) 445-9555 Telephone: (916) 210-6003 Facsimile: (916) 324-8835 E-Mail: Aimee.Feinberg@doj.ca.gov

January 10, 2018

Via Electronic Filing System and Federal Express

Mr. Scott S. Harris, Clerk Supreme Court of the United States One First Street, N.E. Washington, D.C. 20543

Re: State of Missouri, et al. v. State of California, No. 148 (Orig.)

Request for Extension of Time

Dear Mr. Harris:

The plaintiff-States' motion for leave to file a bill of complaint was filed on December 4, 2017. Counsel for defendant received an electronic copy of the motion on that same date. Defendant's response to the motion is currently due on February 2, 2018.

Pursuant to Rule 30.4, defendant respectfully requests that the time for filing a response to the motion be extended by thirty days, up to and including March 5, 2018. An extension of time would better enable preparation of a response that defendant believes would be most helpful to the Court. Counsel for the State of Missouri does not oppose defendant's request.

Respectfully submitted,

/s Aimee Feinberg

AIMEE FEINBERG
Deputy Solicitor General

For XAVIER BECERRA Attorney General of California

Counsel for the State of California

cc: D. John Sauer

First Assistant and Solicitor General Office of the Missouri Attorney General

Andrew L. Brasher Solicitor General Office of the Alabama Attorney General

Lee Rudofsky Solicitor General Office of the Arkansas Attorney General

Thomas M. Fisher Solicitor General Office of the Indiana Attorney General

Jacob Larson Assistant Attorney General Office of the Iowa Attorney General

Elizabeth B. Murrill Solicitor General Office of the Louisiana Attorney General

Justin D. Lavene Assistant Attorney General Office of the Nebraska Attorney General

Lawrence VanDyke Solicitor General Office of the Nevada Attorney General

Matt Sagsveen Solicitor General Office of the North Dakota Attorney General

Mithun Mansinghani Solicitor General Office of the Oklahoma Attorney General

Ken Paxton Attorney General Office of the Texas Attorney General Tyler R. Green Solicitor General Office of the Utah Attorney General

Misha Tseytlin Solicitor General Wisconsin Department of Justice