In the Supreme Court of the United States

SENATORS RICHARD BLUMENTHAL, RICHARD J. DURBIN, PATTY MURRAY, ELIZABETH WARREN, AMY KLOBUCHAR, BERNARD SANDERS, PATRICK LEAHY, SHELDON WHITEHOUSE, CHRISTOPHER A. COONS, MAZIE K. HIRONO, CORY A. BOOKER, KAMALA D. HARRIS, MICHAEL F. BENNET, MARIA CANTWELL, BENJAMIN L. CARDIN, TOM CARPER, CATHERINE CORTEZ MASTO, TAMMY DUCKWORTH, KIRSTEN E. GILLIBRAND, MARTIN HEINRICH, TIM KAINE, EDWARD J. MARKEY, JEFF MERKLEY, CHRIS MURPHY, JACK REED, BRIAN SCHATZ, TOM UDALL, CHRIS VAN HOLLEN, AND RON WYDEN, Petitioners

υ.

DONALD J. TRUMP, IN HIS OFFICIAL CAPACITY AS PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES, Respondent

PROOF OF SERVICE

I, Katharine M. Mapes, counsel for *amici curiae* Harold H. Bruff, Peter M. Shane, Peter L. Strauss, and Paul R. Verkuil, and a member of the Supreme Court Bar, hereby certify that on the tenth day, August, 2020, I caused the three (3) copies of the BRIEF OF HAROLD H. BRUFF, PETER M. SHANE, PETER L. STRAUSS, AND PAUL R. VERKUIL AS *AMICI CURIAE* SUPPORTING PETITIONERS to be served on:

Jeffrey B. Wall Acting Solicitor General United States Department of Justice 950 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20530-0001

SupremeCtBriefs@USDOJ.gov

Service was made by United States Postal Service first-class mail, as well as by e-mail.

In addition, I certify that on the tenth day, August 2020, I caused an electronic copy of the BRIEF OF HAROLD H. BRUFF, PETER M. SHANE, PETER L. STRAUSS, AND PAUL R. VERKUIL AS *AMICI CURIAE* SUPPORTING PETITIONERS to be served on:

Brianne Jenna Gorod Constitutional Accountability Center 1200 18th Street, NW Suite 501 Washington, DC 20036

brianne@theusconstitution.org

Pursuant to the Court's April 15, 2020 Order relating to the ongoing public health concerns relating to COVID-19, counsel for Petitioners have agreed to electronic-only service of this brief.

Respectfully submitted,

/s/ Katharine M. Mapes

Katharine M. Mapes SPIEGEL & MCDIARMID LLP 1875 Eye Street, N.W. Ste. 700 Washington, DC 20006

Counsel of Record for Amici Curiae Harold H. Bruff, Peter M. Shane, Peter L. Strauss, and Paul R. Verkuil