AARON M. FREY ATTORNEY GENERAL

TEL: (207) 626-8800

TTY USERS CALL MAINE RELAY 711



STATE OF MAINE
OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL
6 STATE HOUSE STATION
AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333-0006

REGIONAL OFFICES 84 HARLOW ST. 2ND FLOOR BANGOR, MAINE 04401 TEL: (207) 941-3070 FAX: (207) 941-3075

125 Presumpscot St., Suite 26 Portland, Maine 04103 Tel: (207) 822-0260 Fax: (207) 822-0259

14 Access Highway, Ste. 1 Caribou, Maine 04736 Tel: (207) 496-3792 Fax: (207) 496-3291

March 5, 2020

Scott Harris, Clerk Supreme Court of the United States Office of the Clerk 1 First Street, NE Washington, DC 20543-0001

Re: Jonathan Reisman v. Associated Faculties of the University of Maine, et al.

No. 19-847

Dear Mr. Harris:

I am writing to request a thirty-day enlargement of the deadline by which Respondents must respond to the Petitioner's Petition for Writ of Certiorari. Respondent Associated Faculties of the University of Maine joins in this request. Respondents University of Maine at Machias, and the Board of Trustees of the University of Maine do not object to this request.

The State of Maine (as well as the other Respondents) initially waived their right to respond to the Petition. On February 27, 2020, the Court requested a response to the Petition by March 30, 2020. Due to the press of other business, undersigned counsel anticipates that she will need additional time to prepare a response to the Petition. Accordingly, the State of Maine respectfully requests that the deadline for all Respondents to respond to the Petition be enlarged until April 30, 2020.

I have also contacted Andrew Grossman, Esq., counsel for Petitioner regarding this request. Petitioner does not object to the enlargement. Thank you.

Very truly yours,

Susan P. Herman SUSAN P. HERMAN

Chief Deputy Attorney General

SPH/Isf Enclosure Scott Harris, Clerk Supreme Court of the United States March 5, 2020 Page 2

cc: Andrew Grossman, Esq.
Jacob Karabell, Esq.
Linda D. McGill, Esq.
Tara Walker, Esq.
James Gideon Abernathy, Esq.
George Edward Anhang, Esq.
Jacob H. Huebert, Esq.
Erik S. Jaffe, Esq.
Sam Kazman, Esq.
Nathan John McGrath, Esq.
William L. Messenger, Esq.
Ilya Shapiro, Esq.
Daniel Robert Suhr, Esq.
Erin Elizabeth Wilcox, Esq.