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The State’s Sixth Supplemental Petition filed
against Petitioner (Redacted)

IN THE SEPARATE JUVENILE COURT OF
LANCASTER COUNTY, NEBRASKA

THE STATE OF NEBRASKA CASE ID: JV17-372
IN THE INTEREST OF

ZOIE _ . , SIXTH SUPPLEMENTAL
PETITION
A JUVENILE

7. Theft by Unlawful Taking, $5,000 or more
98-511; 28-518(1) FEL2A

Comes now Maureen E. Lamski, Deputy County
Attorney of Lancaster County, Nebraska, and
alleges and shows to the Court that the above
named juvenile in Lancaster County, born August,
2003, is a person as defined by Nebraska Revised
Statutes § 43-247(2), by reason of the following
facts:

Zoie _ . . on, about, or between November
22, 2018 and November 28, 2019, in the County of
Lancaster and State of Nebraska, then and there
being, did take or exercise control over movable
property of another with the intent to deprive him
or her thereof, having a value of five thousand
dollars or more, to wit: property of Veronica Adden,
in violation of provisions of Neb. Rev. Stat. § 28-
511, 28-518(1).
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The name and address of the parents of said
juvenile are as follows:

Father:
Mother:

The parents do not have custody and the name
and address of the custodians of said juvenile who
should receive a summons are:

WHEREFORE, your petitioner prays that
a summons be issued and served upon the
juvenile and the parents and persons having
custody of said juvenile requiring them to
appear before this Court with said juvenile,
at a time and place to be stated in said sum-
mons for hearing to determine whether the
allegations of the petition are true and that
the Court make such orders concerning the
care, custody and control of said juvenile as
may be deemed proper, including ability and
liability for child support if said juvenile is
placed out of the parental home.

STATE OF NEBRASKA,
Petitioner, Patrick F.
Condon, Lancaster Co-
unty Attorney,

/s/ Maureen E. Lamski
Maureen E. Lamski,
#22243

Petitioner

STATE OF NEBRASKA )
) ss.
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LANCASTER COUNTY )

MAUREEN E. LAMSKI, of lawful age, being
first duly sworn, on oath deposes and says that
he/she has read and signed the above complaint
and petition: that to the best of affiant’s
information and belief the statements therein
made are true.

/s/ Maureen E. Lamski
Maureen E. Lamski,
#22243

Petitioner

SUBSCRIBED in my presence and sworn to
before me this 2nd day of December, 2019.

Jessica M. Busboom
Notary Public




4a

Juvenile Court’s Order Adjudicating the
State’s Sixth Supplemental Petition (Redacted)

Image ID: D00586982D02
IN THE JUVENILE COURT OF LANCASTER COUNTY,

NEBRASKA
Zoile , Juvenile Printed on 12/12/2019 at 2:41
Proceeding under 43-247 (1) Room 02D41
Case ID: Jv 17 372 Page 1

Violate Prob Hrg held on 12/12/2019

ORDER OF ADJUDICATION; ORDER OF JUVENILE
PROBATION;
CHARGES (ALLEGATIONS/AMENDMENTS/ANSWERS/FINDINGS/

REPORT/DISMISSALS
ALLEGATION STATUTE DESCRIPTION CLASS TYPE
01 28-310 Assault-3rd degree 1 MSD
Probation Ordered
02 DROPPED Count dropped/dismissed
03 DROPPED Count dropped/dismissed
04 DROPPED Count dropped/dismissed
05 28-201 Attempt of a class 3A FEL
2A felony
06 28-907 False reporting — 1 MSD
misdemeanor
Probation Ordered
07 28-511 Theft-unlawful 2A  FEL

taking $5,000+
Answer: Admit Found: Adjudicated (2)
Probation Ordered

APPEARANCES AND ADVISEMENT

Judge Roger J Heideman Appeared
Dad Appeared
Juvenile Zoie

Counsel Public Defender

Represented by Amy Peters Appeared
Plaintiff State of Nebraska

Counsel Maureen E Lamski Appeared
Probation Officer Juvenile Probation
Represented by Ember Kalama Appeared

Juvenile previously advised of the nature of the
allegations and all rights.
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Juvenile previously advised of the possible dispo-
sitions.

ANSWER TO PETITION

Juvenile enters answers as shown above.

The answer(s) have Dbeen freely, voluntarily,
knowingly, entered.

Juvenile is adjudicated under Section 43-247 (2)
The Court finds a factual basis exists and the
allegations of the petition are true beyond a rea-
sonable doubt.

ADJUDICATION/MOTION HEARING
Hearing held on: Motion for Commitment to YRTC
Granted

CUSTODY/DETENTION

Commitment to HHS/OFC of Juvenile Srvcs/YRTC
Kearney or Geneva 1is necessary for the protection
of the health and welfare of the child and society.
The Court finds that all levels of probation super-
vision and options for community based services
have been exhausted, no other community based re-
sources have a reasonable possibility of success,
and placement of the Jjuvenile 1is a matter of
immediate and urgent necessity for the protection
of the Jjuvenile, or the person or property of
another, or it appears that such juvenile is likely
to flee the jurisdiction of the court.

The Jjuvenile will cooperate with placement and
programming through Nebraska Department of Health
and Human Services at the Youth Rehabilitation and
Treatment center until discharge. A reentry hear-
ing shall be held, before the court, 30 days prior
to discharge to include consideration of the
juvenile's individualized reentry plan.

Juvenile is committed under the terms of a separate
Intensive Supervision Probation order.

DISPOSITION

The Court orders that the juvenile is placed on:
Intensive supervised probation ordered for a

term of 2 Years Months 232 Days.
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PROBATION HEARING/REVOCATION/TERMINATION
Hearing held on: Third Supplemental Motion to
Revoke Probation

JUVENILE ACKNOWLEDGED UNDERSTANDING RIGHTS, ALLE-
GATIONS, PROCEEDINGS AND POSSIBLE DISPOSITIONS ON
DIRECT INQUIRY.

Juvenile has not received any threats, promises,
or pressure to make an admission.

Juvenile understands that by admitting the alle-
gations the Court is allowed to find the allega-
tions to be true without hearing any evidence and
gives up the rights previously explained.

Court find Jjuvenile's admission(s) to be freely,
voluntarily, and knowingly made and that a factual
basis exists for the juvenile's admission(s) .
Juvenile admits allegations of violation of proba-
tion conditions.

Court sustains allegations of violation of proba-
tion conditions.

Probation Modified.

WITNESSES
Called For Prosecution

ADDITIONAL ENTRIES OF RECORD

Court further finds the exhaustion requirement of
Neb. Rev. Stat. Sec. 43-286(1) (b) (ii) (B) (II) has
been met as the evidence establishes no other
communtiy-based resources have a reasonable
possibility for success.

The Court finds that pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat.
43-3001, State Probation personnel is allowed to
receive and share pertinent confidential infor-
mation not otherwise prohibited by the Federal
Privacy Act of 1974, regarding records of the
court, schools, county attorney, law enforcement
agencies, state parole personnel, youth detention
facilities, medical personnel treatment or place-
ment programs, DHHS, Dept of Correctional Servi-
ces, FCRO and child abuse and neglect investi-
gation and treatment teams with those agencies
having or seeking such pertinent information.
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IT IS ORDERED, in the event that the above-
captioned Jjuvenile, while wunder any form of
supervision by the Office of Juvenile Probation,
has a report pursuant to Neb. Rev. §43-4318(1) or
is the subject of an investigation pursuant to Neb.
Rev. Stat. §43-4318(1) (a) (ii), the O0Office of
Probation Administration shall provide to the
Office of the Inspector General of Nebraska Child
Welfare the individualized ©probation records
referenced in Neb. Rev. Stat. §43-2,108(2). This
order remains in full force and effect until it is
vacated or otherwise modified in the manner pro-
vided by law.

Hon. Roger J Heideman 12/12/2019 Angie Pofahl
Roger J Heideman Date Bailiff
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Statutes and Juvenile Jury Laws

State with Right to jury | Automatic

juvenile- trial in reinstatement of

offender-in- | juvenile right to possess

possession proceedings? | firearms?

statute

Alaska Yes After 10 years

Arizona No No

California No At age 30

Connecticut Sometimes No

Delaware No At age 25

Florida No At age 24

Hawaii No At age 25

Illinois Sometimes Depends on offense

Towa No No

Kansas Yes Depends on offense

Kentucky No No

Maine No Depends on offense

Maryland No At age 30

Mass. Yes Depends on offense
and firearm

Minnesota Sometimes No

Montana Yes Once out of
detention

Nebraska No At age 25
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New Jersey No No

North No Once off probation
Carolina

Ohio Sometimes No

Oklahoma Yes After 10 years
Oregon No After 4 years

Penn. No Depends on offense
Utah No Depends on offense
Virginia Yes Depends on offense
Wisconsin No No

Alaska — Alaska Stat. §11.61.200(a)(1) makes it a
crime for individuals to knowingly possess a conceal-
able firearm if they have been “adjudicated a delin-
quent minor for conduct that would constitute a
felony if committed by an adult,” and Subsection
(b)(1)(C) provides that (a)(1) does not apply if ten
years have passed since the person’s unconditional
discharge on the prior adjudication. Alaska Delin-
quency R. 21(a) allows a juvenile in an adjudication
hearing to request a trial by jury.

Arizona — Ariz. Rev. Stat. §13-904(H) provides that
“a person who is adjudicated delinquent . . . for a
felony does not have the right to carry or possess a
firearm.” Section 13-912.01 lists two categories of
offenders who may apply for reinstatement of their
gun rights. Those adjudicated for a “dangerous” or
“serious” offense, or other specified offenses, may
petition for restoration at age 30. Those adjudicated
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for other felonies may petition two years after the
person’s discharge. 17B Ariz. Rev. Stat., Juv. Ct.
Rules of Proc., Rule 6 provides that juvenile
proceedings shall proceed “without a jury.”

California — Cal. Penal Code §29820(b) states: “Any
person described in subdivision (a) shall not own, or
have in possession or under custody or control, any
firearm until the age of 30 years.” Subdivision (a)
includes a person adjudged a ward of the juvenile
court for having committed certain enumerated
offenses involving violence, drugs, or firearms. The
Supreme Court of California has ruled that a “jury

trial 1s inapplicable in juvenile proceedings.” Richard
M. v. Superior Court, 482 P.2d 664, 668 (Cal. 1971).

Connecticut — Conn. Gen. Stat. §53a-217(a)(2)
makes it a crime for any person “convicted as delin-
quent for commission of a serious juvenile offense” to
possess a firearm or electronic defense weapon. Conn.
Gen. Stat. §54-76e states: “Trial shall be held without
a jury.” Conn. Gen. Stat. § 46b-133d, however, allows
the court to transfer a proceeding designated a “ser-
ious sexual offender prosecution” to the regular crim-
inal docket where there is a right to a jury trial.

Delaware — Del. Code Ann. tit. 11, §1448(a)(4) makes
it a crime for a person who, “as a juvenile, has been
adjudicated as delinquent for conduct which, if
committed by an adult, would constitute a felony,” to
purchase, own, possess, or control a deadly weapon
“unless and until that person has reached their
twenty-fifth birthday.” Del. Code Ann. tit. 10,
§1009(a) states: “Where the evidence supports such
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holding, the Court may declare a child to be. . .
delinquent.” It also appears that Delaware law does
not allow jury trials in juvenile proceedings. See R.S.
v. State, No. N-80-01-0488 FC-A, 1981 WL 377683, at
*1 (Del. Super. Ct. Jan. 28, 1981) (holding that a “re-
quest for a de novo jury trial” before a superior court
in a juvenile case “must be considered frivolous”).

Florida — Fla. Stat. §790.23(1)(b) makes it unlawful
for any person “under 24 years of age” who has been
“found, in the courts of this state, to have committed
a delinquent act that would be a felony if committed
by an adult” to own or have in his or her care, custody,
possession, or control any firearm. Fla. R. Juv. P.
8.110(c) states: “The adjudicatory hearing shall be
conducted by the judge without a jury.”

Hawaii — Haw. Rev. Stat. §134-7(d) provides that “no
person who is less than twenty-five years old and has
been adjudicated by the family court to have com-
mitted a felony, two or more crimes of violence, or an
1llegal sale of any drug shall own, possess or control
any firearm.” Haw. Rev. Stat. §571-41(a)(2) states
that juvenile proceedings “shall be heard . . . without
ajury.”

Illinois — Under 430 I1l. Comp. Stat. 65/8(a), a person
may be denied a Firearm Owner’s Identification Card
if he or she is “under 21 years of age” and has been
“convicted of a misdemeanor other than a traffic
offense or adjudged delinquent.” Under Subsection (p)
of that same section, any adult person may be denied
if he or she is an adult and has been “adjudicated a
delinquent . . . for the commission of an offense that if
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committed by an adult would be a felony.” 705 IIl.
Comp. Stat. 405/5-605 states: “All delinquency pro-
ceedings shall be heard by the court except those
proceedings. . . where the right to trial by jury is
specifically set forth.” 705 Ill. Comp. Stat. 405/5-
810(3) provides that “a minor who is subject of an
extended jurisdiction juvenile prosecution has the
right to trial by jury.” A juvenile court may designate
a proceeding an extended jurisdiction juvenile prose-
cution upon a petition alleging “the commission by a
minor 13 years of age or older of any offense which
would be a felony if committed by an adult.”

Iowa — Iowa Code §724.26(1) makes it a crime for a
person “who is adjudicated delinquent on the basis of
conduct that would constitute a felony if committed
by an adult” to knowingly possess, control, receive, or
transport a firearm. The Supreme Court of Iowa has
held that “[n]either statutory nor constitutional provi-
sions guarantee juveniles the right to a jury trial. In
re A.K, 825 N.W.2d 46, 51 (Iowa 2013).

Kansas — Kan. Stat. Ann. §21-6304 makes it a crime
to possess any weapon according to three different
categories of offense. Section 21-6304(1) includes any
person “adjudicated a juvenile offender because of the
commission of an act which if done by an adult would
constitute a person felony.” Section 21-6304(2) in-
cludes any person who “within the preceding five
years” was adjudicated a juvenile offender because of
conduct that was a felony (but not a “person” felony)
and was “not found to have been in possession of a
firearm at the time of the commaission of the crime.”
And Section 21-6304(3) includes any person who
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“within the preceding 10 years” was adjudicated an
offender for specified offenses and was not in
possession of a firearm at the time of the offense. A
juvenile has the right to request a jury trial “in
writing within 30 days from the date of the juvenile’s
entry of a plea of not guilty.” Kan. Stat. Ann. §38-
2357(a)(1).

Kentucky — Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. §527.040(1) makes it
a crime for a convicted felon to possess, manufacture,
or transport a firearm. Section 527.040(3) states that
“the provision of this section shall apply to any
youthful offender convicted of a felony offense under
the laws of this Commonwealth.” Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann.
§610.070(1) states: “All cases involving children . . .
shall be dealt with by the court without a jury.”

Maine — Me. Stat. tit. 15, §393(1)(C) makes it a crime
for any person adjudicated of “conduct that, if com-
mitted by an adult, would have been a disqualifying
conviction” as defined in §393(1)(A-1)(1)—(5). For non-
violent offenses “in which bodily injury to another
person” neither “was threatened” nor “resulted,” the
prohibition lasts only “3 years following completion of
any disposition imposed or until that person reaches
18 years of age, whichever is later.” There is no right
to a jury trial in juvenile proceedings. Me. Stat. tit.
15, §3310(1).

Maryland — Md. Code Ann., Pub. Safety §5-
133(b)(13) makes it a crime for any person “under the
age of 30 years at the time of possession,” who “has
been adjudicated delinquent by a juvenile court for an
act that would be a disqualifying crime if committed
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by an adult,” to possess a regulated firearm.
“Convicted of a disqualifying crime” is defined in
Section 5-101(b)(b-1)(1)-(2). The juvenile courts “shall
try cases without a jury.” Md. Code Ann., Cts. & Jud.
Proc. §3-8A-13(g).

Massachusetts — Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 140,
§129B(1)(1) prohibits a person who has been
“adjudicated a youthful offender or delinquent child,
or both . . . for the commission of” a felony and other
specified offenses from being issued a firearm-
identification card. Except for a felony and other
specified violent crimes, a person may be eligible after
“5 or more years” to “possess a non-large capacity rifle
or shotgun.” Id. Juvenile proceedings shall be by jury
unless the child files a written waiver. Mass. Gen.
Laws. ch. 119, §55A.

Minnesota — Under Minn. Stat. §624.713, Subdi-
vision 1(2), any person “who has been convicted of, or
adjudicated delinquent[,] or convicted as an extended
jurisdiction juvenile for committing . . . a crime of
violence” 1s not entitled to possess a firearm. A
juvenile has a right to a jury if the proceeding is

designated an “extended jurisdiction juvenile prose-
cution.” Minn. Stat. §260B.130, subd. 3.

Montana — Mont. Code Ann. §45-8-318(1)(b) makes
it a crime for a person “in a youth detention facility,”
“youth correctional facility, or shelter care facility,” or
“under the custody of the facility officials, officers, or
employees,” to possess any deadly weapon. Mont.
Code Ann. §41-5-1502(1) allows minors to demand a
jury trial.
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Nebraska — Neb. Rev. Stat. §28-1204.05(1) makes it
a crime for a “person under the age of twenty-five” to
possess a firearm “if he or she has previously been
adjudicated an offender in juvenile court for an act
which would constitute a felony or an act which would
constitute a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence.”
Subsection (4) allows a person subject to Subsection
(1) to “petition for exemption from such prohibition
and thereby have his or her right to possess a firearm
reinstated.” Juvenile proceedings are conducted
“before the court without a jury.” Neb. Rev. Stat. §43-
279(1).

New Jersey — N.J. Stat. Ann. §2C:58-3(c)(7) prohi-
bits “any person who as a juvenile was adjudicated
delinquent for an offense which, if committed by an
adult, would constitute a crime and the offense
mvolved the unlawful use or possession of a weapon”
from receiving a firearms-purchaser-identification
card. N.J. Stat. Ann. §2A:4A-40 specifically exempts
the right to a jury trial from the rights guaranteed to
a juvenile.

North Carolina — N.C. Gen. Stat. §7B-2510 allows
the court to impose the requirement that a juvenile on
probation pursuant to Section 7B-2506(8) “possess no
firearm” as a condition of the juvenile’s probation. The

court shall sit without a jury in juvenile proceedings.
N.C. Gen. Stat. §7B-3503.

Ohio — Ohio Rev. Code Ann. §2923.13(A)(2) prohibits
a person who “has been adjudicated a delinquent child
for the commission of an offense that, if committed by
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an adult, would have been a felony offense of violence”
from possessing a firearm or dangerous ordnance.
Ohio Rev. Code Ann. §2151.35(A)(1) provides that
juvenile cases are to be heard without a jury, “except
cases involving serious youthful offenders” under
Section 2152.13.

Oklahoma — Okla. Stat. tit. 21, §1283(D) makes it
unlawful for a person who was “adjudicated as a
delinquent child or a youthful offender for the
commission of an offense, which would have
constituted a felony offense if committed by an adult,
to have in . .. possession . .. any dangerous or deadly
firearm within ten (10) years after such adjudication.”
Juveniles may demand a trial by jury. Okla. Stat. tit.
10A, §2-2-401.

Oregon — Or. Rev. Stat. §166.250(1)(c)(B) prohibits
the possession of a firearm by any person who (1) “was
found to be within the jurisdiction of the juvenile
court for having committed an act which, if committed
by an adult, would constitute a felony or a misde-
meanor involving violence,” and (2) “was discharged
from the jurisdiction of the juvenile court” in the last
four years. Juvenile hearings “shall be held by the
court without a jury.” Or. Rev. Stat. §419C.400(1).

Pennsylvania — 18 Pa. Cons. Stat. §6105(c)(7) prohi-
bits possession of a firearm by “a person who was
adjudicated delinquent . . . as a result of conduct
which if committed by an adult would constitute an
offense” under specified sections. Section 6105(c)(8)
provides that the prohibition for juveniles, except for
those offenses in Subsection (7), shall last for 15 years
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or until age 30, whichever is earlier. Juvenile
hearings “shall be conducted by the court without a
jury.” 42 Pa. Cons. Stat. §6336(a).

Utah — Utah Code Ann. §§76-10-503(1)(a)(iv) &
(1)(b)(11) prohibit possession of dangerous weapons by
a person who (1) “within the last ten years has been
adjudicated delinquent for an offense which if
committed by an adult would have been a violent
felony” or (2) “within the last seven years has been
adjudicated delinquent” for an offense that would be

any other felony. “Hearings in minors’ cases shall be
... without a jury.” Utah Code Ann. §78A-6-114(1).

Virginia — Va. Code Ann. §18.2-308.2(A)(i1) makes it
unlawful for any person to possess a firearm who was
“adjudicated delinquent as a juvenile 14 years of age
or older at the time of the offense” for murder,
kidnapping, and other specified violent offenses. Sec-
tion 18.2-308.2(A)(111) prohibits possession by those
under 29 who were adjudicated delinquent for an act
that would be a felony other than those specified in
subsection (i1). The juvenile has the right to an appeal
heard de novo by a jury. Va. Code Ann. §16.1-296(C).

Wisconsin — Wis. Stat. §941.29(1m)(bm) prohibits
possession of a firearm by any person who “has been
adjudicated delinquent” for an offense “that if
committed by an adult . . . would be a felony.” Wis.
Stat. §938.31(4) states that a court—not a jury—
“shall make findings of fact and conclusions of law” in
juvenile cases.



